Journal logo

I've felt like giving up on my passion. Here's why you shouldn't give up on your dreams, not matter how hard you have to work to get there.

DO IT.

By No IntroductionPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
A man ready to make a change. Photo from unsplash.com

I've had a passion for film since I was a kid. It was my escape from an abusive family that helped me distract myself from the horrible childhood loneliness that sometimes was excruciating, as well as endless. Movies were the way I got to get away from all the bad. At a young age, I had seen classics like Citizen Kane, Casablanca, and Gone With The Wind.

The movies that I watched and fell in love with ended up showing me right after high school that I wanted to become a filmmaker. I had a passion that I didn't see in anyone else. I knew people interested in music, law, politics, and talking to them about the things they loved became obvious to me what I wanted to do with my life.

Now I'm almost thirty and reconsidering following this dream.

I've talked to quite a few people who have worked in film with local community members also interested in getting jobs working on tv or films done in the state. The amount of work they put into doing what they do shows a huge effort to make something of themselves in their effort to land their dream job. I think the best thing somebody in my same position should do is to keep moving forward and to not let go of their passion.

For a long time, I struggled to get approval from friends and family about my career choice because I wanted to feel like it wasn't completely insane that somebody nowhere near L.A. and having no connections to the business what so ever could make a real actual living from making films. The tight-knit group of elites that worked this industry and basically controlled everything only made it more of a difficult decision that I eventually stopped really looking into because it seemed impossible at this stage in my life.

Things are changing though.

The accessibility of smartphones today made it easier for the everyday person to make and edit videos AND post them on the internet for the world to see all within hours. Not weeks, months, or years. HOURS. How this hasn't ended the stronghold Hollywood has on the cinematic world is beyond me. Young adults who know how and when to utilize this are now making millions and millions of dollars off skit videos posted online made from devices that don't cost tens of thousands an hour to rent.

Now, I cannot find it in myself to start the YouTube thing and put myself out there like millions of others do. I have never wanted to take that leap because it just doesn't feel comfortable to me or like the step I should be doing to get myself noticed. Maybe that's a reason why I haven't made it yet. Regardless, I want those of you who are on the cusp of giving up, or even right at the verge of enlightenment to finding out this is what you want to do to KEEP MOVING FOWARD.

There's nothing worse than constantly having that 'what if' thought cross your mind numerous times throughout a lifetime. Always kicking yourself in the rear for never making the final leap into getting started. Now is the time to take advantage of the access you have to today's technology and making it yours to shift the dynamic of tomorrow. Utilize social media and get yourself known. There has never been a better time (yes, even with COVID) to really put yourself out there and start doing what you've always dreamed of.

In short, I don't believe I'll ever pull the trigger and make the moves necessary to start my journey to becoming a filmmaker, but that doesn't mean those of you who are really, really passionate about it have to make the same mistake! Do yourself a favor and MAKE IT HAPPEN!

career
1

About the Creator

No Introduction

Small content creator discussing abuse and mental health in my NoIntro Podcast. Love yourself and allow yourself to believe in change. You are loved, you are worthy, and you deserve this life you've been given.

♥️🧡💛💚💙💜🖤🤎🤍

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.