Journal logo

I reached my first 1K reads on Vocal

Read about my Unusual Journey on the Vocal

By WinryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5

OMG guys, it finally happened. I finally reached my first ever 1000 reads on Vocal. This morning I got an email from the Vocal team congratulating me for reaching my 1000 reads. Glazing at the email, I remembered my weird and funny journey with Vocal.

How sweet it this

It wasn't long ago when I used to frantically check my stats to see how many reads I have got. I wrote my first article two years ago. I also used to get upset seeing just two reads on my articles. I joined vocal two years ago because I wanted someone to hear me. I wrote few articles, but since no one was reading my articles except me, I felt kinda unappreciated. Not long after that, I stopped writing and I completely forgot about the existence of Vocal. Few months before COVID hit the world and we all were trying to get used to the “New Normal”, I felt like writing again. As soon as I felt like writing, I tried to remember the platform I had once written, I went through an enormous search looking through the list of platforms for writers in hope of finding that familiar name. But no luck, none of those names from the list rang any bell.

I was upset and exhausted trying to remember Vocal. Once while I was scrolling through my Instagram, I saw an ad. The ad seemed familiar and I decided to check it out. Of course, it was the same Vocal I had once used to write my thoughts when I was at my lowest point in life. I wasted no time and immediately got back to writing. Many things had changed since the last time I had used Vocal. It had become popular. There were premium memberships aka the Vocal plus membership, you could add gifs and Unsplash images to your stories and many more. And there were weekly challenges. Once again, I started slow. I barely had any reads but things changed when Vocal introduced bonuses. During that time, one of my stories "A Country with the Eight highest mountain peaks, and its heart of the jungle" got selected as one of the top stories and you could imagine that helped to boost the number of readers.

I started writing for almost every challenge. While I am disappointed I haven't won any of the challenges, but I can feel my writing skills improving. Obviously, you can win a good sum of money through the challenges, but we can't forget about the bonus of encouragement we receive from Vocal every now and then.

Thank you for the bonus Vocal media

And to all the new creators wondering how I reached my 1K reads. I didn't reach 1K reads overnight. It was a very slow process for me. I didn't use any fancy way or big platforms to advertise my articles. I just asked my friends on Instagram to read it for me and I shared a few of my articles on Facebook. The majority of my read comes from creators like you and me. So, Thank you, everyone, for reading my articles, thank you for all those hearts you leave. More importantly, Thank you Vocal for appreciating what inspiring writers like me.

*****

Here is one of my favorite quotes to all of us who are struggling to make an impact on this platform.

"You don’t start out writing good stuff. You start out writing crap and thinking it’s good stuff, and then gradually you get better at it."

- Octavia E. Butler

******

Did you like what you read? Leave a like if you enjoyed it! Tips are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reading. Have a good day and Happy Writing!

*****

Until next time!!!

industry
5

About the Creator

Winry

I write whatever is on my mind!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • marie e ehlenbachabout a year ago

    Do you have to read other articles or wait for someone to read your?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.