Journal logo

I may debrief here every time I quit a job

And/or get fired.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
2

27MAR2021; 0735, SAT

It's been an eventful 30 days or so finally being gainfully employed again and I'm most def grateful for the opportunity all things considered. Of course, the downside is that despite having the capability to better provide for my Younglings, I was all but wholly unavailable for quality time with them.

Matter of fact, I vaguely recall flaking on them thrice in a row as mentioned in my previous piece about this particular employer. Suffice it to say that I am automatically filtering out any job openings in any remotely similar positions and/or companies.

As luck would have it, that last assertion put me at almost exactly 98 words and the gospel rapper Sho Baraka, that I'm currently jamming out to, just mentioned Ms. Lauryn Hill and her sole studio album of her solo career, which was released back in '98. As the queen and living legend would say, "Everything Is Everything".

So I reckon that I'll continue with this AAR (After Action Review), or debrief, while it's still fresh enough on my mind. I don't remember exactly how they were done back when I was earning my stripes with Uncle Sam, but I believe that the Sustained's followed the Improves.

With that being said, I definitely would've liked more honesty and/or transparency from my superiors. From the alleged pay bump that was wholly inadequate, to the ridiculously unrealistic expectations, I certainly expressed my desire to resign to my immediate supervisor mere hours before the other shoe dropped.

There were lies about mundane and minuscule matters as well. Not to mention the sheer incompetencies of management that would inevitably spill over to the Grunts like myself.

I would be strongly admonished for a shortcoming in my planning skills and whatnot, only to see it glaringly refracted by the head honchos. I would like to ask the new Jeopardy host (Rest in glory, Trebek) "What is hypocrisy?"

Also, missing so many nights of invaluable rest away from my new bed was almost entirely demoralizing. Yeah, I've spent more time in the bed than I care to contemplate; however, the rumor going thru the grapevine is that toxins are eliminated from the brain when we catch up on Zzz's at night.

In any event, I figure that this is as decent a halfway point as any. Now for the aspects of the job that I found appealing:

My former coworkers were very kind while exhibiting plenty of tough love on top of that. From the random snacks and reminders of break time, to celebrating my one month anniversary with mild applause.

Full disclosure: I certainly owe them a note of gratitude for putting up with me and my frequent tardiness as well as your boy's absenteeism. I'm not sure why I didn't get fired much sooner, if I'm just being honest.

At any rate, I undoubtedly respect the way that the company covers continuing education courses and such at the start of our very first day, to include orientation. I really regret not taking advantage of the opportunity when it presented itself.

In the spirit of Sankofa, or "using the past to understand the present and shape the future", along with the also arguably underrated concept of synchronicity, I'd like to express my gratitude at the fact that I more or less rekindled a formerly soured friendship. It went down approximately thirteen minutes after pulling off from my now former place of employment.

No, it wasn't with the young lady that I just wrote an open love letter to, but that's neither here nor there. It was a very pleasant surprise all the same.

Just as well, I have another old friend expecting my behind to pull up in less than 30 min or so. If anyone knows how and why major corporations are so impactful and/or mismanaged, then I believe that they're already ascended from this realm also.

Relative perplexity notwithstanding, if you are someone somewhere who gets something from this piece, please don't hesitate to Like/Tip/Share. TIA (Thx In Advance)!

workflow
2

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.