Journal logo

Why I'm ready to put in my 2 wk notice already

Not even a full 2 wks on the job

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
Random screenshot from Apple Music

7MAR2021; 1010, SUN

To quote the self-proclaimed genius, 'Ye, and his debut album from '04, "I been, working this grave shift; and I ain't made s**t"! For all the non-hiphop fans out there reading this, that's Kanye West; the College Dropout album; and the song is called "Spaceship".

So, before I dive too deep into my grievances, I want to say that it's certainly not all bad. However, suffice it to say that the cons are seemingly outweighing the pros.

In other obvious observations: If any of the head honchos at the company catch wind of this for some reason, my two week notice would likely be completely unnecessary. I will get sacked like Mahomes in last month's Super Bowl; with the quickness!

Then again, perhaps this will all be taken with a grain of salt, and some of my suggestions will be implemented; and the constructive criticism will be seen for what it is. A guy can dream, right?

Well, getting to the meat and potatoes:

Speaking of the bosses, rumor has it that a couple of them had a convo in which a rather drastic increase in personnel was requested. I want to caveat the next factoid by saying that I know employees are the most expensive and risky investment pretty much any biz can make; however, I'd strongly recommend another, similar increase "ASAP, early".

There's little to no doubt that the pioneers and such of the company had it much harder than I do currently, as far as workloads go. On the flip side tho, isn't forward progress supposed to be a fact of life and whatnot?

Also, I thought that the adages went something like "Many hands make light work", and "Work smarter, not harder"? What am I missing?

In the past couple nights, I've worked thru at least one of my 15 min breaks each evening. Full disclosure: We get two paid 15's and an unpaid hour to rest our feet, as well as munch up on a little something.

When we're not in the break room or enjoying our days off, they certainly get their money's worth out of us! Although, I regrettably often find myself wondering what the other shifts do to deserve getting paid almost just as much as me and the rest of the grave shift do.

I suppose that this is as decent a time as any to mention that I definitely didn't get my ideal job description that I applied for with this particular company, and my schedule which I requested wasn't adhered to at all in my first week or so. In addition, I was under the impression that if I wanted to exchange shifts with a coworker, we could easily do so via an app; without involving a manager at all.

As Maury would say, "[The fact of the matter is], that was a lie." Speaking of which tho, I didn't get my schedule for this week (which included last night) until yesterday morning.

"Cmon, son!"- Ed Lover (RIP). In a similar vein, I flaked on my daughters thrice back to back, to back if memory serves me right; because I was simply too tired to make the exactly 20 min drive (without traffic) from my pad to theirs.

I've been skipping workouts, meditation, and reading all because my job is too much of a priority. On the positive side: I didn't have to do a week or two in the hole before getting my first check; despite coming on board at the end of a pay period.

Random: My DieHard steel toes have been a big blessing and are starting to show more signs of wear. I actually had to change the laces of one of the shoes last year or so due to serious fraying and what have you.

I more or less had every expectation of failing the interview, the background check, and/or drug screening. In any event, I'm essentially hopeful that myself, along with my fellow essential workers, will get either a bump in pay to reflect our essentialness and/or some reinforcements from "out of left field".

At any rate, I'm at about my baseline and I want to proofread and submit this piece before I go meet my daughters at the park; seeing as how I was unable to do so before Incubus's 2012 compilation album finished playing. If you are someone somewhere who got something out of this post somehow, please Like, Tip, and/or Share.

Thx In Advance!

***

Addendum: The real official music vid for the song "Spaceship" is actually on some BAMF (Bad Ass Mother F****r) status if you can find it on YouTube. It was posted there some 11 odd years ago by a (Hip-Hop) Head known as YoungC12, and the Like/Unlike ratio seems to demonstrate that awesomeness.

Well, the park is calling my name and I have to do some personal hygiene first since I need my daughters to more or less always make an effort to take care of themselves; impending economic crisis notwithstanding. Peaceful Tidings.

workflow
6

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.