Journal logo

I'm Writing My Own Story

...and I'm the Hero Who Everyone Loves and Deserves Here...

By Kent BrindleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
I'm Writing My Own Story
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I was always fascinated by story-telling.

Going back to a time when "He-Man..." and "G.I. Joe..." were my go-to childhood appointment viewing opportunities, I think that I somehow inherently sensed that someone had WRITTEN the dialogue/scenes. In fact, it prompted me to turn around and start scribbling out little side-adventures when the REAL adventures had long since gone off the air for the day and I didn't want to pop in the same VHS tape again. (Even in playing with my figures, I would, on technicality, be creating my own adventures for them).

Hence, a childhood dream to write and spin fiction was born. Childhood dreams are always nice; when you STILL won't let go of one 3+ Decades later, I suppose that it means something...

I guess I've grown into being a "Character" creator in more avenues than just to write fiction. Of course, when I'm crafting my own little worlds (where everybody knows the underdog's name and the hero STILL always eventually wins) for Microsoft Word and, eventual, self-publication, I'm creating characters. Beyond that, one of my favorite video-game series for the PlayStation right now IS still the "WWE 2k..." series with its option to create your own character or even try your hand at recreating an established one (...yes, "...2k20" was as much of a buggy mess as everyone purported. Long after it's done receiving updates to fix these things, "CAW Me" [why, a created character based on MY likeness of course] STILL has the infamous "Red Health Glitch" where in the healthbar to START the match is already at 33%. If THAT's not an underdog, I don't know what is. Now watch me PLAY as that character and STILL manage to win at least maybe 85% of the time).

I was going somewhere with that anecdote. Yes; "writing on the computer"/"Storytelling/World Spinning" (even when playing a game. See, that connection IS still there). I guess one of my little oddities (if I were to pick ONE) is that I was always a storyteller (when I was being creative. I was not a LYING kid, really).

So, the childhood dreams of traditional publishing haven't quite reached the fruition that I had waited on when I'm now somewhere in the neighborhood of 13-15 times SELF-published. (I go back to read my own books a lot; I know WHY I'm in my self-publishing phase). I do need to get back on my feet again and try again for self-publishing; or get back to Microsoft Word not-only-in-November-for-NaNoWriMo; OR continue honing my artistic craft HERE or in other sharable mediums (Have I interrupted myself, full stop, lately to let you all know how much the reads are appreciated yet? Because I do appreciate them! Thank you!).

There is a certain beauty to "storytelling/world-spinning/character creating" and putting those worlds on paper for preservation. This is MY unique world and everyone knows the underdog's name! The hero may take a while to do so but he will TRIUMPH! Sometimes, the underdog turns INTO the hero! ("There's no need to fear; Under..."...not THAT "Underdog;" he was otherwise licensed at least two decades before I was even BORN, let alone writing yet). The hero ALWAYS gets the girl that he needs and deserves, if not always the girl that he first desires! ...and, IF the hero deals with self-doubt, self-consciousness, even mental/emotional/spiritual health issues, he ALWAYS overcomes them before they can overwhelm HIM. I can even get away with basing my characters off of my own struggles; then caring just deeply enough for the well-being of a young lead that I'm willing to give THAT character some of the successes, in his late teens, that I have yet to grasp in my mid-thirties (Quick plug for "The Art of Belonging and Blending In." That book, and all of my self-published works, are floating around Amazon).

...So, when the world gets too rough, I've seemed extra walked-upon lately, and the media would prefer to continue spinning FEAR as reportage, it is safe to turn off the TV and go back to my creative space where everybody knows the hero's name, most of them use that name to celebrate them, and, eventually, MOST problems can be resolved and neatly packaged. (I'm a little bit passed my 80s animation days. I still watch them for nostalgia's sake; but, in MY writings, not every problem can be solved in 22 minutes; and there are no plastic figures for MY writing to shill for yet).

I may or may not be spinning the idea of a new world or new characters in my overactive brain right now. Perhaps I'd best get this on paper before it gets away. Peace...

See; I am TOO a successful writer (nowhere does this say anything about SELLER); It says so RIGHT ON MY SHIRT!

The writer/not-quite-salesman THANKS you and yours for reading (and would like to reassure you that these pictures are from his late twenties; he looks a little bit different).

humor
1

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.