Journal logo

I'm Still Looking for a Job

This is what it's like for disabled people.

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

As it is, I’m still looking for a job. Something part-time and out of the house. Preferably retail. It is possible where I live to do this. I applied at a pretzel shop at the mall, and a health foods store at the mall so far. There is a 711 in my neighborhood. I plan on applying there, if I can. Ideally, I want to be able to walk to work. I do need the extra income since I have to buy some pagan supplies like gemstones and herbs. This will eventually happen. I found a sweet insurance gig, which means that I can work very part-time and that’s okay by them.

The company sounds very laid-back, and a place where these-days, laid-back me can fit in. I’m close to nailing a perfect one AM reading since that is the trouble spot I have decided exists. I have to figure out a way to combat this by lowering my basal rate. When I’m out of the house, my blood sugar is usually more stable than when I’m inside the house, anyhow. This is a bit of an oddity I’ve noticed in recent years since moving. When I’m at school, I’m having fun, so I’m less stressed out.

I’m frankly paranoid that they refuse to hire me because of my disability. This is all ridiculous brainwashing. They can’t not hire you like that, although it has happened plenty of times to me, and I wonder how many cases I could otherwise have. The current administration is not helping disabled people right and left. We need to have protests about this as disabled people, not allowing them to get away with it, while going quietly in the night to strip us of the right to work. Or even the right to get treatment, perhaps.

You should not go broke because of your disability. There is no way that you should be dirt poor because you are disabled. I assume staying low-income is something that keeps me safe from having money, and thus having certain people try to take my money or at the very least, we can agree I pay the HOA fee and that’s it for a while. I’m very low income, but I hope that can change as I publish my writing. I’m also appalled that many people like me who have a disability feel stuck until they get a job. I’m honest with my employers since a bipolar can’t have a job in childcare—or so I have been told by others—which means that I disclose. I am not applying for childcare though.

I am applying part-time, to insurance, and retail in general, which can tolerate a part-time schedule. My knee is much better, for a reason I do not care to discuss, but I’m walking better. I can’t stand employers who string me along but don’t hire me. I’m unwilling to put up with this discrimination from people. Of course, that security company I attempted to get a guard card from was shady. I got yelled at for being late, and he didn’t sound at all like a normal person—more like an untreated, of the kind that gets on my nerves. I’m glad I got out of there when he threw me out for no reason.

These experiences make me wary. The high heat that day was uncomfortable. I felt bad driving. So yes, limited understanding there, and I filed a complaint with the company who had somebody talk to me that wasn’t even there for the whole incident. His energy was like an atomic bomb, anyway. In fact, when I got to the company, I had a vision of a bomb being dropped on the building, with impact, and radiating out. That meant to look out for this company. I wish I had an easier time of looking for a job, since I can hide my disability fairly well by now with the right meds. No company can interfere with the changing of an infusion set. They are not allowed to do that, even if I have to inject and insist on going home to change it. These are the trials and tribulations of what it is like to look for a job and have a disability.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.