Journal logo

I'm On My Way to Becoming a Storyteller

For now, I'm a freelance videographer

By Reese MariePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
I'm On My Way to Becoming a Storyteller
Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

In college, I studied Film and Digital Media. I graduated with a whole lot of debt and even more confusion about what to do next. A year later, here I am, working as a freelance videographer. It kind of just happened. I graduated at the height of the pandemic, when very few companies were hiring, and my efforts to secure a job were not paying off. I knew I needed to start making money, and I knew I had a skill that some people, who I could meet via the internet, would find valuable: video editing. I managed to secure a short term gig with the help of Upwork.com. That client referred me to another client, which led me to start making a full time income from freelance video editing.

I can’t say I love my job every day when I wake up. Sometimes I stay up until 2 am revising a video that I thought was perfectly good the first time. Sometimes I don’t go outside the whole day because I’m in front of the computer. When I graduated from college, I didn’t know what I would end up doing, but I never pictured this. But still, on the days when my job drives me crazy, I think back to why I decided to study film in the first place.

I want to be a storyteller.

I believe in the power of stories. They bring the world together, they help us understand other people better, they help us understand ourselves better. That’s what I want to do. That is my ambition. Stories have been a part of human culture forever. They are passed down, remembered, shared, cherished. I have been touched by so many stories in my life, as have, I believe, most people, even more than they realize. I bet you, dear reader, can bring to mind a story that impacted your life in some way, by teaching you a lesson about the world or helping you understand a new point of view. If you take some time, you’ll find that there are even more than you initially realized.

Even when I make a video tutorial about using editing software, there’s a story there. When I make a video reviewing a restaurant, there’s a story there. Maybe these aren’t the stories I aspire to tell, but each and every time I make a video, no matter what the subject is, I work my storytelling muscle.

And while every day of my job may not feel like my dream job, there are days that do. Like when I got to make a video about a local pizzeria in Chicago, sharing the story of a small business and their delicious food with the world. Or the time I got to work with a musician, to help her share the stories of her songs with the world.

One day, I hope to tell stories that the world needs to hear, stories that will move and shake. I hope to be able to produce independent films that tell these stories. I hope to work with passionate actors, writers, and artists of all kinds. Our passion will bring us together. We will unite with the effort of creating a film to share with the world.

One day, I hope to tell the story of my immigrant ancestors; their struggles and their victories. I hope to tell stories from my own life and the lives of those around me. Though they may seem mediocre or ordinary, they are important. I hope to tell stories that amplify the voices that most need to be heard in the world. I hope to tell stories that haven’t yet been told. I hope to tell stories that inform, educate, and inspire.

By Peter Stumpf on Unsplash

I may not be telling those stories yet, but I love my job because it’s a stepping stone to becoming that storyteller. Every cut I make on Premiere Pro, every cross dissolve I add to the end of a clip, every frustrated command-Z I pound on my keyboard when I did something wrong is helping me learn.

careerhumanityindustry
1

About the Creator

Reese Marie

"That the powerful play goes on and that you may contribute a verse"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.