Journal logo

I'm Half Way Through Writing My Novel, Here's What I've Learned

Lessons I've Learned and Mistakes I've Made

By Elise L. BlakePublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
I'm Half Way Through Writing My Novel, Here's What I've Learned
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

I am currently halfway through my Camp NaNoWriMo Project. A YA LGBTQ Psycological Thriller novel that I have had the idea of for many years, have outlined many times, and have decided that I have no reason to weight to write it and thought 60k words during Camp Nano sounded like the perfect time to fast draft this novel so I can move on to the next step and start querying it. 

This is my first young adult novel as well as the first novel I plan on traditionally publishing and it has in itself taught me many lessons and there are five of them that I now pass on to you to help you with your own novel. 

The Messy Middle 

Since I have just reached the middle of my story this one is first and foremost. 

I know my story has a catching beginning and mean ending that you will not see coming, but it's the middle bits that have thrown me for a loop. I even lost a day of writing trying to come up with a solution to not have it drag so much but in the end, the only solution I came up with? Skip it.

I scrolled right down to the bottom of my manuscript and started writing the ending bits because I knew them and there was no reason to be saving them for another day. The more I write in my story the more I learn about my story so that when the time comes that I have to turn back to these empty chapters, I'll be ready to fill them in. 

Plotting vs. Pantsing 

I have stated many times that I am in fact team both. While I do plot out my story in a way, I can also full-heartedly get behind the idea of pantsing in a way. 

While this novel has been in a way my easiest to write because I took the time to complete a chapter-by-chapter outline before I began writing as to not fall behind during NaNo, I have also added in chapters I didn't know the story needed until I was writing them by the seat of my pants. 

As with many things, sometimes combining two things together can be the best option. 

Perseverance 

Sometimes - I wanted to quit. 

It has been 19 days of nonstop writing to get my novel to the 34,009 words it sits at today. 

Somedays the last thing I wanted to do was to sit at my computer and open up that document, but I did it, because I knew that if I let myself fall behind, even by one day - I was never going to catch up to the goal and I would mostly likely quit. 

Sure I had the one day that I was outlining that I didn't get many words in, but I was still working on it. 

Editing Can Wait 

There's nothing I hate more about my document than those little red lines that seem to follow every sentence I type - but I can't help it. Typing isn't one of the things I am good at, I'm clunky when I type and I am also pretty bad at spelling. (Thank you autocorrect) 

If I were to stop at the end of each sentence or paragraph and correct every little thing that those red lines point out to me that is wrong - I would probably still be fixing the mistakes I made on day one of camp NaNo. 

Stopping to edit can pull me out of the scene that I am writing so I try to do it as little as possible. Mostly I save it for the end of the writing session to go back over the things I have written - but only to fix the mistakes, not to edit the words themselves. I'm saving that for the end of the month when I print out and edit the draft entirely. 

Celebrate Milestones 

I bought myself a treat when my novel reached 10,000 words, and then again when it reached 20,000 words and 30,000 words respectively.

Celebrating each of these milestones even if it's just in a small way, helps me keep focused on the end goal. I have something to look forward to each time I reach another milestone, with the final one being my partner taking me out for a well-deserved day off of writing. 

---

Some lessons we can only learn by doing, and I am looking forward to the lessons the second half of this novel will teach me. 

Now it's back to writing for me. 

With love, 

B.K xo 

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

Click my link to start your 7-day free trial today and start earning more for your stories.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

literaturecareerbusinessadvice
Like

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.