Journal logo

I'm A Recovering Perfectionist, And This Is My Story

How one freelance writer overcame perfectionism and procrastination to get sh*t done

By Rick MartinezPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - March 2022
48
Photo by Monica Silva on Unsplash

As much as I like to think I'm a disciplined writer, I have to admit I'm not.

Take this article for instance. I think I sat down to write it about fourteen times. Seriously. I kept concocting distractions that seemed to be a priority and every time I came back to my desk all I could whip up was another reason to stand up and mosey away.

First, it was to heat up my coffee...

Next, it was I think I left my iPhone unplugged...

Now my iPhone was plugged in but didn't I just hear it ring?...

Then of course my coffee was cold so I had to heat it up...again.

You get my drift.

Most people want to be successful freelance writers. But for many, perfectionism and procrastination get in the way. These two habits can lead to stagnation, not getting your work published, and a lot of wasted time.

So how do you do it? How do you overcome the urge to be perfect and to procrastinate and become a productive freelance writer?

What is perfectionism and why do you have it?

Perfectionism is a term used to describe a person's strive for flawlessness.

It is often viewed as a negative trait because it can lead to procrastination and stagnation. Perfectionism can be a good thing in some aspects of life and career, like let's say you're a neurosurgeon. Or maybe you're a Fortune 500 accountant. In these cases, I'm sure we'd want to strive to be perfect.

One little slip and we've got serious problems.

However, for freelance writers, it can be detrimental because it leads to a perfectionist attitude towards their work. This can be defined as an excessive need to make sure that everything is just right, which often leads to procrastination. Like in my coffee example.

There are several reasons why writers might be prone to perfectionism.

One reason is that the written word is permanent. Once something is published, it cannot be taken back. This can be scary for some writers who are afraid of making mistakes.

Another reason is that writing is a personal form of communication. It's a way to share your thoughts and feelings with the world, and you want to make sure that it's perfect.

Lastly, many writers feel like they are not good enough or they compare themselves to other writers who seem to be doing better.

How does perfectionism affect freelance writers?

Perfectionism can be a major obstacle for freelance writers.

It often leads to procrastination and a fear of making mistakes. This can prevent writers from completing their work and getting it published. Additionally, perfectionism can make writers very critical of their own work, which can lead to discouragement. It's important to remember that nobody is perfect and that everyone makes mistakes. What matters is that you learn from your mistakes, keep writing and of course, PUBLISH!

Assuming that you too are afflicted by this same bug, what's a writer to do?

Funny you should ask, keep scrolling my fellow ink-slinger.

Four steps to overcoming procrastination

Let's keep it wicked simple shall we?

Set realistic deadlines

Be honest with yourself and take into account your life.

Seriously.

You have to write, but you also have to live. Find that balance and set your deadlines accordingly.

Break up your work into manageable tasks

So you have a 5k word article to write. Don't we all?

Chunk it out.

Do the outline. Then perhaps write the intro. Or maybe break it into word count. The point is to set yourself up for success.

Avoid distractions

Put on the headset, close the door, shut off the flippin' social channels and buckle down baby.

Focus on your writing goals

Why are you doing this?

If it's to pay the rent and feed the fam, then you truly need to decide how bad you want to accomplish these things.

Me? I'll be damned if my family goes hungry because I couldn't manage my time or myself.

Tips to maintain productivity while working from home

"But Rick, I work from home now so I'm faced with gobs of new challenges."

Welcome to life. We're all faced with stuff and not all of us are cut out to be solo freelancers. You might need to go get a job with some structure if that's you.

Not me though.

Here are a few things I do to keep me in a productive mode and mindset.

Get dressed for work

Wearing jammies all day sounds cool but the truth is it isn't. Take a shower, wash your ass, and dress the part.

No, you don't need to wear a suit but at least dress like you partially give a damn.

Have a dedicated workspace

The kitchen table is nice up until your kiddo spills Cheerios on your Mac.

Find a place that you can call yours. Period.

Take breaks

Like really take them. Go outside and let the sun hit your face. Go for a walk. Do some pushups.

The point is to reward yourself with a break that is NOT procrastination.

Reward yo damn self

For me, it's often pizza and a cold beer. For you maybe it's a movie.

No judgment, just make sure you do indeed pat yourself on the back.

Connect with other remote workers

Online is the shizzle and I've made tons of connections with fellow freelancers around the globe.

Even though I'm super introverted, having a group of folks I can tap into is and has been, priceless.

The final word

There's no perfect answer.

There's no one article that'll hit the bullseye.

There's only you, and your desire to create something from nothing. To take those jumbled thoughts and plop them onto a page with words that hopefully shake, move, motivate or stir something in your readers. It's what we strive to do as freelance writers.

My hope is that maybe one, perhaps two of the things I shared resonated.

And that you win.

So go win baby.

advice
48

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.