Journal logo

I Lost My Job. And It's Your Fault, Not Mine.

You Read That Right

By Mackenzie CoberleyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

It's hard for me to put into words how I feel. So, I wanted to give it shot with what I do best. Writing.

About a week ago, I was furloughed from my job. Not just any job, but my dream job. A job at a company I thought nearly impossible to work for, in an industry that takes years and so much stress and so many tears, to become something in. To make yourself MATTER.

At the start of the pandemic, I knew the music industry was going to take a hit. No live music means large amounts of lost income. But I didn't know things were going to get this bad. My company moved to remote working towards the end of March, in hopes that we could do our part in flattening the curve. In hopes, that we in turn would be returning to work come the Fall at the latest.

Since March, there have been multiple large companies in the music world letting employees go, trying to stay afloat, and hoping that live music would make a return. These decisions never come easy, and at the end of the day, sometimes it's what is best for the company. It's been four months since then, and my company just made their first round cuts and 300+ employees lost their jobs. But it wasn't any of our faults.

It's hard enough to lose a job, but it's even harder to know you lost it not because any fault of your own. There was no bad blood, or scandalous event that got me fired. I lost my job at no fault of my own and it's very hard to comprehend that. It's devastating, my heart breaks, and quite honestly, I have cried a lot about it.

I think a lot, about how I was this wasn't me. I want to wish it upon someone else, I want to think that what if there was something I could have done more. But there isn't. There's something you could have done, mask up.

I wanted to write this to put into some perspective of people who are doing what they are supposed to be doing, and are the ones who are getting the short end of the stick.

If you wear your mask, and you do what you are supposed to, this write up isn't for you. This is for the people who refuse to wear a mask, and refuse to take any responsibility for the music industry tanking. Because guess what? You're the problem. You're the reason it isn't safe for venues to open up for concerts and risk putting people, and artists in danger. You're the reason that hundreds and thousands of those in the music industry are SUFFERING. We are losing our livelihoods, all because of a piece of cloth you don't want to wear in public?

I filed for unemployment last week, and I need to pay my bills. I will have to make a decision eventually if this does not get any better. I will have to chose getting a job in a different industry or trying to live off every penny until the music industry gets back on track. But why? Why me? I haven't done anything wrong, I do what I am supposed to be doing to help stop the spread, yet I'm being punished because some of you decide that your stubbornness and your compassion for others does not exist. You feel as if YOU are more important than the rest of us. Well guess what?

Unemployment rates are still climbing, thousands of Americans are about to become homeless, and there is much more to come.

Here are some RELIABLE sources telling you that MASKS WORK, and until you dingbats decide to help stop the spread, know that I do not like you, and I FULLY blame you for my recent unemployment status.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Mackenzie Coberley

This is my life! Just trying to write what makes me happy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.