Journal logo

I hate my job

The worst parts of being a server.

By Fearless HorizonsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I hate my job
Photo by Jordan Whitfield on Unsplash

I know I said I was going to start posting different content but sometimes I just need to have someone to vent to. Being a server sucks. If you need a job until you can find a better one then it works good as a temporary fix. On the other hand though, it’s very exhausting especially for an introvert like myself. I hate coming into work because of the fact that it’s extremely slow with everything going on covid related. If we get shut down again I’m screwed. I can’t collect unemployment again yet. Even if I do collect unemployment all I will be getting is maybe $200 a month if I’m lucky. All of my money I make is in my tips and since I’ve changed where I’m working I don’t make anything near where I’m used to. I’m honestly worried. I understand why the shut down will happen and I understand that it’s to protect people but it’s just going to make me homeless. I can’t afford my bills at that point. I can’t do anything. I mean isn’t it already bad enough that I don’t get decent insurance? Haven’t I been hit hard enough with that? Lets get real guys, if I get sick I can’t go to the hospital and get checked out because I don’t have decent insurance. I’ll have to pay for pretty much the entire thing. I don’t make enough to pay for medical expenses.

If you’re not a server or never have been a server let me break it down for you. Normal minimum wage in most states is somewhere around $7.25 an hour correct? And with that minimum wage you still can’t pay bills unless you’re working two job that pay minimum wage right? If you’ve ever struggled with a job that only pays minimum wage then you’ll understand when I tell you that my minimum wage is $2.13 and hour and I may or may not get enough tips within my shift to even make it to normal minimum wage. I’ve had people not tip me at all and I gave them decent service. I get looked down upon while I’m at work if I’m on dining side. I hate it with a passion. All I’m trying to do with my life is move out of my moms house and go to school for audio engineering. All I wanna do but being a server is the hardest way to do it. I’d be better off as a stripper and I am no where near attractive enough to be a stripper so they better be drunk when I go on stage.

All I’m really trying to say is lets be kinder to our servers. We’re giving everyone some sort of normalcy during all of this chaos. Tip them at least twenty percent. Make sure you’re not a Karen towards them. We will do the best we can but we’re also human too. We have to worry about getting covid and dying just as much as you do. It’s terrifying out there and there’s nothing I can do to protect myself or make sure I’m staying afloat through all of this mess.

If you do by chance want to know how you can support me check out the instagram I have set up for my Scentsy products. @fearlessgalaxy Buying something from me on Scentsy will do more good than anything else. I’d almost get down on my knees and beg you to buy something from me so I can ensure that my bills are covered. I guess I’ll see you there if you do decide to follow that journey of mine.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Fearless Horizons

A misfit learning how to be fearless as I reach new horizons.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.