Journal logo

I Am Turning These Stories Into An Extended Book.

I Decided That There Was Potential To Develop It Into A Bigger Story.

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
I Am Turning These Stories Into An Extended Book.
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

I love a good scary horror, especially those that freak me out. I decided to write one that had a complicated story line.

No human gets out alive in this story!

Most of the horror I watch on television have boring endings.

everybody survives!

I haven't seen a horror where terrible things happen leaving no human survivors.

In my story, no human survives, but there is a twist to the tale.

The evil spirits get justice for their ancestors by subjecting humans to some really evil torment, then they turn them into one of them.

The characters in my story have heard the myth about nobody ever leaving the forest. Jesse has always had a flare for adventure, whereas Adam is a little naive. Tom, on the other hand, is rather protective of Jesse despite their arguments, so he decides to go along in order to protect her.

None of these young adults is aware of the evil forces that they will be facing, once they enter the forest.

When I read my story back; I realized that there was an extended storyline to this story and that I could add many shocking twists and turns into the tale.

Funny fact: This was originally meant to be a children's horror, but I decided after working on it that it needed to be aimed at an older age group; possibly 18 and up!

You can read my first piece of this story below:

My husband loved the above story, and he pointed out that there was so much more I could add, with a little imagination.

He tells me that I have a brilliant dark imagination when it comes to horror, and judging by my chapter stories 'Emma,' he isn't wrong. You can read these chapters below. I am also working on other chapters of Emma.

When I read Emma back, it reads like a movie in my mind. The Zombies in Emma are not your regular take on Zombies!

I broke a tradition in the rule of brain-eating Zombies!

Of course, I am working on some books that I haven't written anywhere else.

I have many to work on!

However, I have republished a few of my stories on Vocal into books.

It enabled me to make a start in getting my stories out there, and yes, I am still writing this book too.

click here

When you click the link, you'll see my hair is different. I haven't changed my picture for a while as I have been too busy writing!

I am not a perfect grammar queen. I make mistakes, even though I have a certificate in grammar!

However, writing is not about writing perfectly. Read the books on the shelves in shops, and you'll see that even some of the world's most famous authors have glitches with grammar!

Despite the above confession. I do love writing, and I have done since school.

Here is another fact:

I didn't have the confidence to put my work out in the public eye until I started writing online, and Vocal changed that for me, by bringing out my confidence in my abilities!

My advice to other budding writers, authors, and creators is, in order to make a dream come true; you have to begin somewhere. Start by writing one word or a sentence on paper, and just play with it. This is how a lot of my stories were created. Don't be dismayed by your grammar, you can check that later. A story no matter how good takes a lot of work; though don't be discouraged by your negative thoughts.

I am a writer who has some learning disabilities, but Vocal encouraged me not to let that get in the way of my budding career.

I will end this story, by saying a massive thank you to the whole of Vocal and all the wonderful creators here.

I wouldn't be writing and my dream of being an Author would never have started without you!

workflowproduct reviewindustrycareeradvice
Like

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.