Journal logo

I Am a Mom Now

By Choice

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
5
I Am a Mom Now
Photo by guille pozzi on Unsplash

I Am a Mom Now

I didn’t always want to be a mom. For various reasons as I grew up, I decided motherhood wasn’t in the cards for me. Firstly, because I carry a genetic disorder that I didn’t want to pass on; secondly, because I was married to a maturely stunted man from a neurotic family, and, thirdly, because of being one of the oldest grandchildren/nieces of a super-huge extended family, I had been saddled with the responsibility of looking after littles from a young age. It wasn’t pleasant and created the opposite of developing a nurturing nature within me.

When I got divorced from my immature partner and married my current husband, we decided we wanted a child. I was in my mid-thirties by this time. I had realized that my genetics played a minor role in who I was, just as they would in a child with a 50/50 chance of inheriting the condition, but greater things to offer life regardless. The man I married appeared to be a responsible person from a “normal” family, and I had learned a lot about myself and developed a desire to raise a child, instead of having the responsibility forced upon me by authority figures.

When I reported the growing pregnancy to my parents, my mother replied, “I knew you would want children someday!”

(No. How could you know that? I was pretty clear that I did not, regardless of your desires and assumptions. You also would have had to know I would be getting a divorce (which you very much didn’t) and that I would then marry a man who made me feel inspired to have a child. Where I was at in my life, you had no reason to “know” anything different.)

But anyway ...

Now I am a mom of a teenage girl in her last year of highschool. The advantages of being an older parent is the ability to mature into self-awareness, life experience, and parenting with intention. Not that many younger parents don’t do an amazing job – it's just got to be a lot harder when you haven’t had the chance to mature yourself before committing to raising people. Although, their energy stores are commendable! And no matter how much life-experience I try to share with my daughter, she still insists she already knows.

Many of my parenting counterparts are 15-20 years younger than I, which is interesting, fun and often, informative. Our perspectives and experiences are very different.

I was born when my mom was 19. The oldest of three. She had the three of children under her care at the age of 23, along with our dad. I can’t even imagine.

At first, I was fascinated and happy with my younger brothers, but that soon enough turned to annoyance and wishing I remained an only child. Nearly fifty years later, I still feel the same.

My husband and I decided we were happy with one child. No sharing of resources, time or attention. I don’t know how our only child daughter feels about it, but it has worked out well from our perspectives, having both been close witness to, and a part of, unhealthy and uneasy sibling relationships.

I was aware of the idea of enjoying the days of nurturing a child, but they still went by unimaginably fast. I remember snuggling the infant in the rocking chair. Now, the beautiful young woman is about to enter the new world of college and being an adult! I hope we’ve done a good enough job that she can make it a confident and capable entrance!

I never thought I’d be here, and now it’s time to let it go a little. I’m a little bit sad, but also ecstatic for the possibilities for her future.

pop culturehumanity
5

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.