Journal logo

How You Can Make Money By Writing for Medium

This side gig is great for writers or poets

By C C FarleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How You Can Make Money By Writing for Medium
Photo by Mathieu Stern on Unsplash

I am a Vocal Media writer because I love the challenges and their great topics. Not too long go while promoting my article on the Vocal Facebook groups, I happened to find out about another site, Medium.

After some research, I heard that people were making money from this site, writing on all kinds of topics. I also found out that making money requires a few stipulations, like getting 100 followers.

I engaged in the community, and in a very short time, like two weeks, I managed to get 100 followers and sign up for the Medium Partner Program.

For those afraid of the 100 follower requirement, I would advise you to chase your fears away. The people on Medium have been wonderful to me and new Medium writers, and some newbies even managed to get 100 followers within 24 hours!

I now have a comfortable 1600 followers after being on the site for only 4 months.

If you love writing for Vocal, or just want to write, Medium is a great place to write about all kinds of topics, such as your hobbies, or work-related matters.

Another great thing about Medium is that you can write long articles or short ones, but I recommend that you add value to each article.

Just like Vocal, I recommend writers start with an interesting title to grab the reader's attention. But I would not recommend click-bait titles --that is titles that promise a lot but fails to deliver on the subject matter.

After writing on Vocal Media for a few months, you will start to get to knew your follow Medium writers, many of whom regularly post articles on how to make money by using certain strategies.

On Medium, you get paid for reads and not for views. That is why it is important to engage and read other articles. Most of my views are internal, and I rarely have to go outside Medium to get any new readers.

What is unique on Medium is that your articles can get major exposure if you join publications. You can even start your own publication. In the beginning, I started out with smaller publications but managed to snag a big one, Illumination. Its editor is amazing and he has curated my articles on his own list.

If you are an eager-beaver, you can self-publish your own articles, without waiting for approval and still get on the Medium Partner Program.

I love Medium! I would recommend that you start by self-publishing your articles, and then start joining publications, such as Coffee Times, or Illumination.

By joining publications, your article gets a better chance of being read and I do recommend that this is what you should aim for.

I love that Medium pays on a regular basis, and there is no threshold to meet, such as $20. Some writers have found that the more articles you write, the higher you get paid.

I recently discovered that if you write technical articles and are into software development, you won't have trouble finding readers and making money.

My area is to write about general topics, and there are a few surprises. My articles that turned out to be popular centered on my job as a crossing guard for the school district. My one-off article about my unbelievable visit with a UFO garnered some reads but not enough to make me impressed that Medium has a strong UFO community.

I also write about strategies one takes to get followers on Medium and that proved to be popular. One article I wrote about Google Maps got viral and got tons of views but the reads were not as substantial as the views.

To get an idea of my earnings, I wrote 22 articles in February and earned $29.42. In January, I wrote just 17 articles, and earned $50.62.

To summarize, making money on Medium is possible, but to get consistently the same income every month is not an exact science.

I recommend that you do a deep dive every month to check on which articles earned you the most money. I also read other writers' monthly earnings report to determine which articles made them the most income. This is a great way to research and determine the kind of topics that generate more income, than others.

Hope you found this information useful.

If you are new to medium, please join here, and support writers like me and also join and start earning money and become a writer,too. Thank you in advance.

product review
Like

About the Creator

C C Farley

I loved reading at an early age. Writing is also a passion and I love writing, reading, and spending time with my pets.

I also love photography, independent film making, travel and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.