Journal logo

How To Quit

Your Job

By Leiann Lynn Rose SpontaneoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
photo by Pixabay

I was working at a cafe and working as a writer. Yes, the cafe money was nice. However, being a writer makes me happy. I have one steady writing job and had another just waiting there for my attention!

The manager at the cafe relied on me. I knew it. But, the cafe was stressful. I went from being a barista to working in the kitchen. However, guess who else had to do janitorial duties before closing? I had to sweep the whole cafe, clean the restroom, get the garbage ready, clean the coffee station, etc. I was just not in the right field.

Believe me, I would ruminate every day. I wanted something new. I did not want the drama. It was there the whole while. The other writing job!

Finally, the second writing job said come to mama.

I set my manager aside while alone and told her. I said to her that she had been good to me for the cafe job but another job would make me happy. I said to her that I hope that she understands. I told her that I would stay until a replacement was found. Within the same week, I got replaced! Make your decisions as close to happiness as possible!

Now, there was a day when I had an idea for the cafe that would have sold like hotcakes. I texted the owner of the cafe with my idea. I am obsessed with mocktails otherwise known as non-alcoholic drinks. I asked her if we could hold a “mocktail of the week”. I have tons of recipes. She never replied. I might have stayed if the suggestion was accepted. I might have been excited to be there. What do you think?

Make sure that you have another job lined up. This is not smoking. You cannot quit cold turkey. Do your research first. Go on Indeed.com, ratracerebellion.com, etc. Polish up that resume. Do you need different references? I always keep an up-to-date resume on file to have just in case. It does not hurt to have one.

Are your job’s work hours tough on you? Again, search for a new job online. Find a job where you may make your own hours, for example, a work-from-home job.

Are you wanting to go back to school? If so, me too. Now I have the privilege. Again, I make my own hours. Would you like free courses? Go to coursesitycom.

Are you moving? Then it is understandable that you need to quit! If the manager does not understand, then no love is lost.

You need to think about your health! Cortisol is a stress hormone that goes straight to your belly causing the most dangerous fat, belly fat. Do you need to vent? Grab a good friend and let it all out! I had nobody to vent to and had to do it all on my own. I am telling you now what I went through.

I would like to share with you an inspiring story. About 2 years ago, I just happened to be browsing ratracerebellion.com and came across a woman whose husband was in the service. She was updating her resume but had no job description. She did not have one set job but did work a ton of side hustles that equaled a full-time job. She thought for a while, and said “I’m a professional side hustler”! I admire her. I am sure that she would not mind if you borrow her job description.

I saw online once that it is OK to disagree but not OK to disrespect.

Put a smile on your face. If I did it you can do it!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Leiann Lynn Rose Spontaneo

Studied Political Science at Duquesne University.

Highest Honors Graduate in Fitness and Nutrition from Stratford Career Institute.

Her future plans are to become an aromatherapist to help people with their ailments using essential oils.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.