Journal logo

How-To Not Make $10,000 A Month As An Internet Writer

I hope that you can learn from my mistakes.

By Christopher HarveyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
How-To Not Make $10,000 A Month As An Internet Writer
Photo by Mathieu Turle on Unsplash

Well, first off, I’d like to know where this arbitrary number of $10,000 a month came from. Every other article in my feed is how to make 10k, how I got a million followers, how I’m so awesome, blah blah blah. I suppose it’s just as good a goal as any but let me be frank with you, It’s not realistic.

That’s not to say it isn’t possible. Anything is possible and I have seen stats of some people who actually do, do this. Me personally, not even close. What I offer you today is what you may want to avoid if your goal is to actually make some money as an internet writer.

Let me tell you a little about me so that you can be confident that I know what I’m talking about. I am an ex-drug addict from Texas (Addict, ex-addict… depends on who you ask. Point is I don’t do drugs anymore.) who at one point in time tried all kinds of shady things to make money. So, lesson one, don’t do drugs to excess. That only leads to bad things and 99% of the time, being $10,000 in the red.

I have had multiple blogs, YouTube channels, and any other “get rich quick scheme” that you can think of. Why do I tell you this? Well for one because it’s the truth and I am no longer that person. I don’t live in fear of who I used to be. Also, because that’s one of the main things you should take away from this article. Don’t buy the snake oil. If it seems too good to be true then it probably is.

I started with a free website and a bunch of how-to videos on YouTube. In my first attempt at selling something online, I was so ignorant of how things worked that I actually just copied and pasted somebody else’s sales article directly to my free WordPress website and did what I was told to do. I went around other blogs and commented on posts with a link to my article, err that lady’s article…

I’ve used creative commons videos on YouTube to try and sell affiliate products in the comments and get ad revenue off of the videos. I’ve tried making product stores with various wholesale product sites. I’ve paid for ads on Facebook that have turned out to cost me more than I made off of the product. It probably didn’t help that zero products got sold that way.

The point is, I have tried it all. Most of it was rushed and I was looking for the easy way into the market. I bought the snake oil and was looking to get rich quick. I’m not rich…

Years later I have cleaned up my act in life and I have actually taken the time to learn to do things the correct way. Making money online is a slow process. I mean, you could get lucky and write one article and it goes viral and you make a ton of money off of that. That’s tantamount to winning the lotto and yeah, it’s possible, but if you have any sense at all you are not relying on it for your retirement.

I’ve read articles with all kinds of contradictory advice from all the gurus. Do this, don’t do that. I honestly think most of them are just writing to fill a page so that they have something to publish. It may have worked for them but in my humble opinion, there is not a cookie-cutter way of doing it correctly when it comes to things such as, “don’t do too many calls to actions” or “don’t put in too many links in your article.” Write how you write as long as it’s honest.

To answer the question I’m assuming is in the back of your mind right now, yes I have actually made money since I started doing things the correct way. Is it 10k a month? No, not even close. But it grows every day and I see progress. I think that’s the way to do it, at least for me.

All in all, if you want to make any kind of money online as a writer, then you have to do things the right way.

What is the right way? Well, like I already stated, there is no cookie-cutter answer but there are some things that you should do to be successful. The only thing I really know to tell you (and I think honestly what anybody else can tell you,) is work. You have to work.

Follow the rules of the platform that you are writing for. If you don’t like those rules then find a different platform. Learn the rules and follow them. They set them in place because they also want to make money.

Write. If you don’t write you have no product and if you cheat you will eventually be found out.

Do some research on the ins and outs of your craft. Know what you are doing. Take the time to be a professional and try to avoid cutting corners. Be original and take a chance by putting yourself out there.

There are millions of writers on the internet now and nobody wants to waste their time on the same ole regurgitated nonsense. You should always try to stand out in the crowd.

So yeah, that’s it. The answer to the problem is not teachable. To make money as a writer you have to have a work ethic and that is completely on you. All the rest is for nothing if you are not willing to put in the work.

The hard truth of it is, it’s really hard to be a successful writer and you have to be okay with that fact. Keep working and never give up. We all have greatness in us, we just have to work to find it.

Thanks for reading!

Originally posted on my blog. Check it out here: https://kryztoff.website/

Original post: https://kryztoff.website/how-to-not-make-10000-a-month-as-an-internet-writer/

career
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Harvey

I’m a long-time writer and musician. I love telling stories and writing poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.