Journal logo

How To Deal With Information Overload

How 1 Simple Trick Will Help You Start The Day Right

By Andrew FlanaganPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today has been a slog (so far...) Trying to stay motivated all the time is almost impossible, we have so many tasks to achieve throughout a day that when you first wake up in the morning and think about these tasks it came to seem like the whole world is weighing down on you.

I know that is how I felt this morning. Waking up I started with my usual visualisation. My plan for the day is:

  • Record A Video For Youtube & Instagram
  • Write A Blog
  • Brainstorm A Concept For My Coaching Programme
  • Read 50 Page of A Book
  • Record A Reel For Instagram On Performance Necessity
  • Attend a Meeting About The App I Want To Build
  • Reach Out To My Target Audience On Instagram And On Facebook
  • Copywriting For Next Months Instagram Posts

As I lay there trying to compute all of this it was a struggle. So I got out of bed with my heavy head and decided on my game plan for the day. Knowing I have to work out as well today I began to prioritise my work into the four quadrants of work.

Not Important & Not Urgent

Not Important & Urgent

Important & Urgent

Important & Not Urgent

By doing this it allowed me to focus down.

Not Important & Not Urgent

  • Answering Emails

Not Important & Urgent

  • People Who Are Asking Me For Something To Benefit Them

Important & Urgent

  • Record A Video
  • Write A Blog
  • Attend A Meeting About The App I Want To Build
  • Record A Reel For Performance Necessity
  • Copywriting For Next Months Instagram Posts

Important & Not Urgent

  • Read 50 Pages Of A Book
  • Reach Out To My Target Audience
  • Brainstorm A Concept

By doing this simple exercise whether that be in my head in the shower, or writing it down on a piece of paper I now know what my focus has to be on.

Important & urgent means that there is a deadline, everything on that list for me has to be done today. Yesterday some of those tasks were important and not urgent. So that is my mistake for allowing them to move across into what I call the panic zone. (This is something that I work on improving every single day.)

Going into work now I know that I will not check my emails, I will not answer calls to anyone who is going to ask me to reach THEIR DEADLINES. I am going to focus on myself.

So now let's move on to something that links well with the topic above.

Time Management... Today has been a struggle in terms of time management, between trying to shoot the video, edit, etc, I have underestimated the time that it takes.

This is something I believe that we all do. It is easy to underestimate, we do it with everything. The amount of effort it will take to get to the next stage, we underestimate the amount of work, capital, time, skills that we will need to advance.

Because we do this, it becomes easier to become de-motivated. It becomes harder to stay motivated and as a result, most of us quit.

So here is my tip.

However much effort you think something will take, 10X it. That is right 10X what it will take. The reason why? Your mentality will change. You will start looking at the tasks that you need to take and be more ready to take them.

Well... that is it for today. I hope you have enjoyed it. Leave a comment down below about the information overload you have every day.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Flanagan

Mindset & Business Coach:

Helping Entrepreneurs Grow Their Revenue Online

Utilizing battle-tested practical methods

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.