Journal logo

How I Got Over 18,000 People On My Instagram 2 Weeks In

My exact strategy for organic growth on Instagram

By Sean PeckPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
How I Got Over 18,000 People On My Instagram 2 Weeks In
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

I've always been super invested in digital marketing and social media for business. The amount of opportunity you have for a career when being a digital media content creator is outstanding.

There are so many social media platforms out there right now and these platforms can be used to promote any type of business or brand. One app that is most commonly used to promote is Instagram. Instagram gives the creator the ability to build their own personal brand through pictures and videos. Honestly, I would have to say that Instagram is my favorite platform to use to build a brand.

I've been making Instagram branded/niche accounts since 2015 and just recently, a little over a month ago, I made a meme account and it's been taking off so far with over 18,000 accounts reached

My first post on the account was July 8th and the organic growth for my account has been a trip so far and I'm hoping for more success on my page in the future.

The preparation you should take

Way before I even started an account, I took time to prepare for starting a new Instagram niche account. The first thing that I did was thinking about why I wanted to create the account. I've had a passion for digital marketing and I truly believe that it's going to be more common and stronger this decade. If one were to master the art of digital marketing, it'll eventually develop into a passive income resource and, for me, financial freedom is my long-term goal, so social media marketing can be a great asset to invest in and learn.

I wanted to have different niche accounts and personalities on my newly created accounts with the goal of getting hundreds of thousands of followers and use that platform to marketize other work like affiliate marketing or promoting other social media accounts created by myself. When I started a meme account, I thought it would be a fun little side-hustle that can hopefully turn into something better. I've been following meme accounts for years so I had that influence and I always thought it would be fun to start one so I made an account.

I studied and research the Instagram algorithm and the different methods for organic growth. I wrote pages of notes and had content prepared before I even thought of the username for my account. By setting myself ahead and preparing myself for the long run, I realized how much easier it was to run the account and post content.

Whenever I have to create content, I always set a schedule for myself and what to post and when. Even though it was just a meme account, I still followed the same schedule and made up all the drafts to post in the future.

My account grew fast, and my preparation was a big reason. But not everything is all sunshine and rainbows running a social media account. There are days where my profile and content get no attention and it can be depressing, especially since I put more time in than I should've and it can get depressing. The thing about social media is that it's extremely bipolar when it comes to analytics, so I made sure to not lose focus and concentrate on the quality of my content.

3 Instagram Methods

If you're ever thinking about starting a niche branded account, you should always prioritize the content you post.

Quality beats quantity any day of the week, and your first impression is key.

Let's say you post a funny video and a random person scrolls on it. You want to draw that person into your account. Think of it like you're a salesperson, but the thing you're selling is the other content you make.

Hashtags. It's 2021 and hashtags are still important, so best believe they won't be going away any time soon. Think of the hashtags as your SEO optimization for Instagram. Narrow down the specifics and put out 4–5 hashtags.

I usually start with one or two-worded keywords, but I branch the rest out to target the specific niche that I'm in.

Show engagement to others. Some people say that followers aren't important anymore, they are so wrong. The follower count of a branded niche account, like my meme page, shows how many people enjoy your content and want to see more. How did I go from 0 followers to over 600 in 2 weeks? I engaged with other meme pages, only 15–20 a day, but the engagement helped other meme pages discover my account.

Profile Theme and Brand. There's so much competition now in social media that it's nearly impossible to grow fast when first starting out, so you have to develop your own unique brand and brand name.

The Power of Instagram Reels

I'll be honest, over 95% of my views are from Instagram Reels.

Instagram Reels was announced exactly a year ago in August and it's made an instant impact on the platform and the accounts worldwide. Basically, they copied TikTok and Reels are a way to create and discover short 15 second videos on the Instagram explore page.

To use the reels option, you just have to click on the Reels icon in the Instagram Stories camera. The first 30 of my reels only got around 100–200 views until one of my videos on the Instagram Reels blew up. Ever since I've had a couple of other reels, generate a couple of thousand views.

Whenever there's a video to post, do it on Reels.

Connect with me here. I have a newsletter as well if you want to subscribe to it to live a better and more relaxed life.

social media
1

About the Creator

Sean Peck

Online entrepreneur with a passion on business, social media marketing, music, and media

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.