Journal logo

How I Earned $424.45 As a Side Hustle In My Free Time

Passive income can make you rich

By Saurabh AdhanePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
How I Earned $424.45 As a Side Hustle In My Free Time
Photo by Hamed Taha on Unsplash

I always tried to earn money online. When my company cut down my payment to 50% due to COVID-19 pandemic, I was totally collapsed. It was horrible for me. I still have $10,000 of student loan, which I have to pay. The situation was worst during the starting days of COVID-19.

I had no money in my pocket, I slept much night with nightmares. I knew I was to run out of money, however, I started to think about how I can earn money online.

During COVID-19 lockdown, I was at home with less office work due to strict lockdown. I had plenty of free time. I think, God saw my pain and Quora invited me to join their partner program.

I was an active writer on Quora since 2016, I have written many useful answers but Quora never sent me partner invitation. I accepted their invitation and joined Their partner program.

I was writing for a weekly newsletter when I was in school. During a lockdown, I discovered my writing hobby. I started writing on different platforms like Medium and Vocal. Earlier I was writing only on Quora.

It was time to earn money by writing online. I don't feel any problem in writing for money. I started out working on my passive income sources, secretly. It's the best decision I ever took in my life. You grow with your passive income source and the same thing happened to me.

I started asking questions on Quora

You can earn by writing questions on Quora. Quora pays you not for writing but for asking questions.

Isn't it sound weird!

It's their business model. It's always hard what Silicon Valley leaders think. You can earn good about on Quora by asking questions. For that, your Quora must invite you to join a partner program.

After joining the partner program I asked around 12000 questions and earned 380 dollars in 6 months. My earning in initial months were far less than now what I'm earning. I am sharing it month wise.

  • May- $9.23
  • June-$17.56
  • August-$22.67
  • September-$81.89
  • October- $73.78
  • November-$120.09

Quora partner program works like the compounding effect, where you earn after working hard for months.

Quora's earning depends on SEO, in which is your questions is ranking on googles front page you will earn more. You must know about SEO. Quora has a higher domain authority of 95. Your question get rank quickly if you have enough answer for your questions.

It's not easy to earn money on Quora, I did by doing research and learning from other partners. I added it to my passive income stream.

I found medium and vocal media to monetize my writing

Making money by writing online was difficult for me. I never tried freelancing but will try in the future. To earn substantial passive income, I started my blog but it didn't get any eyes.

I invested $100 on my blog and earned nothing. I discovered Medium on google and joined it. First time in my life, I earned my writing. Writing on Medium is a privilege for me. I have earned a total of $75 on medium, I know the amount is small but it will be more I started putting out more efforts on Platform.

I earned,

  • $6 in September
  • $23 in October
  • $48 in November

By publishing around 60 Stories.

Recently I have started writing on vocal media, I am not earning much on that platform but it is always good to stick 2 or more platforms to a built portfolio in the future.

Both Medium and Vocal Media are the best blogging platform, I am practicing my writing and earning a good sum to invest in the share market.

How earning passive income helped me to pay my bills

We generally think, will $100 per month change my life? We always look for a bigger amount. Let me tell you if you have proper investments plan you can double this amount.

I use my passive income for further investments in stocks and bitcoins. I take risks, it helps to make more money. At the end we all living for money, which is our priority. Articulating, proper investment plans helped me to achieve my financial goals.

takeaways

When I look back in my life, I was always out of money and diving in a financial problem but when I started earning passive income, I'm becoming more financially stable.

No college or school tells you about how you can become financially independent and stable. You must carve your way out. It's time, to sum up, our story,

  1. Look for a potential passive income source
  2. Start growing it day by day
  3. Invest time and money to learn new things
  4. Invest your passive income in shares and bitcoins

business
2

About the Creator

Saurabh Adhane

I am software Engineer and writer. Write about writing and self developement.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.