Journal logo

How Do I Make Remote Work, Work?

Routine. It’s all about having a routine.

By Samantha ScottPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How Do I Make Remote Work, Work?
Photo by Bonnie Kittle on Unsplash

I can’t stress the importance of having a routing in place.

Having a routine whilst working remotely will help you prepare for your workday and bring a sense of stability and structure to your day.

As a remote worker myself, I still stick to a routine no matter where I am. Whilst some of the smaller details may change, the overall shape of my day stays consistent.

I get up at the same time, do a quick morning stretch, wash my face and all those bathroom things, head outside for a walk (no matter what the weather) and of course coffee...I’ll either pick up a coffee on my walk or brew a coffee pot at my Airbnb before heading out for a walk (yes — I live in Airbnbs). It’s only after I’ve done all of that do I sit down at my desk to start the day.

This routine stays the same, no matter where I am.

By Avel Chuklanov on Unsplash

I’ll always step away from my desk at lunchtime and when closing my laptop at the end of the day, I’ll go for another stroll so my brain switches off from any work tasks. An evening routine is just as important, so having something planned at the end of my workday, like a walk or working out really helps me make the shift from work time to personal time.

Here’s how else I make remote work, work for me:

I have set work hours — and stick to them

This helps my days to stay consistent and my mind to stay focused. I never need to work on my discipline of sticking to a schedule, because it now just happens automatically. I still make the most of the flexibility that remote working allows but having set working hours allows you to create a routine.

Switching off entirely can be difficult, as you may feel the need to respond to messages immediately, no matter the time! Set expectations with your team and clients, let them know your working hours and they should know not to expect anything from you outside of these times.

By Martin Sanchez on Unsplash

I take regular breaks & prioritise my time

Taking regular breaks help me come back to my work more focused. Forcing myself to work doesn’t allow for my best work, so if I am not feeling it right there, I find that taking a quick break works very well.

Without any downtime to refresh and recharge, we’re less efficient, and will likely make more mistakes so it’s important to take regular breaks.

Enjoying some downtime may feel harder when your office is also your home but make sure you prioritise your own time and find what works best for you.

By Oladimeji Ajegbile on Unsplash

I have a dedicated workspace

Not having to commute to an office every day is a huge benefit of working remotely but it also requires you to find your own space to work from. For some, this is at home; and others from a co-work — it’ll depend on what your needs are.

For me, I mostly work from my Airbnb or a local cafe (depending on how my day looks and if I’ve got any calls lined up).

Finding a spot to work from each day is important, as you’ll be able to establish a routine and train yourself to know that…this space is where my work happens. It’s even better if it’s the same spot each day. If you’re on the move or can’t create a working environment from home then try finding a nearby cafe or co-working space to work from — just be sure to check their wifi speeds before you get settled.

It’s important to have good lighting and to not be in a space where you can easily fall into ‘switch off and relax’ mode. Avoid working from bed and if you do have the occasional work-from-sofa day, then make sure your TV is switched off; limit your distractions.

By Domenico Loia on Unsplash

If you already work remotely, it's likely you already know what works best for you. It’s important to find what works for you - only you will know this.

If you don't currently have the perfect remote working environment, I hope these ways will give you inspiration. Whilst working remotely has plenty of benefits, it also requires you to have self-discipline, try new ways of working and let remote work, work for you.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Scott

Remote work advocate | Slowed since 2018 | Actionable tips for remote workers, nomads & those who slow travel

IG: @allthingsremote 📸

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.