Journal logo

Hockley airsoft arena

Save Hockley airsoft arena

By victoria hallPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Small airsoft businesses ess

My parents have always worked hard since I can remember. My dad is very intelligent man and has multiple expertises like engineering, teaching and computers, plus a lot more. Even though he has dyslexia he still tries hard and pushes himself to do his best. He can be very blunt which is why my mum is so great she balances everything out and is also very smart but more when it comes to writing and the accounts. Together they are the perfect team. I’m on the autistic spectrum, got okay grades at school but in class education never suited me. Didn’t have any friends growing up. Tried couple apprenticeship but the first apprenticeship ended up being scrapped by the company and the 2nd didn’t work out. My parents asked me if I wanted a job with there new business. I won’t lie didn’t think they were serious but fast forward to January 2015 the arena was built by all of us by hand and we were opening to the public . Since opening we have had good months and bad months like any business but my parents always found a way to keep it going. My sisters have worked for my parents to pay for university and my uncle now works for the company because he hated his old job. My husband who I met through my parents company also works for the company but as a gun engineer. By opening this business we have made parents feel better about there child’s hobbie because we explain and show parents what it’s all about. Younger kids love nerf it’s a club they can do after school or as a birthday party. Even scouts, beavers and cubs comes to us for there Christmas or Easter party. It’s different there isn’t an indoor arena around our area. My kids have grown up at the arena and me and my husband want to keep the family business going in the future then pass it down to our children. We want to expand, the business has so much more to offer we just need the funding. Covid19 could be the end of us unfortunately which will upset mums, dads and children. My parents hard work will be ruined. I’m doing everything I can think of to keep business going. That is why all money I make goes to my parents business. We have some boot sale items we are currently trying to sell on the company eBay and guns on prefired that are being sold at discount price. Unfortunately we can trade online at the moment but we still trying to come up with ways to make money for the business. Money would also go onto advertising so people know to come to us when we are back up and running. The website is still viewable ready for when we re open and start taking orders online again. We are also in process of trying to upgrade the arena to make it fresher and new for our regular players. Obviously an upgrade isn’t cheap so every penny helps. Loads of small businesses are struggling it’s just personally for me and lot of other people involved. A lot our children who have some sort of learning disability or mental health will also struggle if the company goes under as it’s a release for them and to see or make friends. Promoting gun safety is a big deal for us and hopefully prevent as much gun crime and accidents in future. Guns are not dangerous people are. It’s no different to learning boxing or archery. Any thing can kill if you want it to. I hope you consider my parents business as it’s unique to the area and means a lot to different people for different reasons.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.