Journal logo

Hiring Season for Entrepreneurs

how and when to hire

By brooke vecchiPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

My Experience

As a business owner myself, I can sympathize with other serial entrepreneurs like myself when it comes time to make the decision to hire a team to help expand the original mission of your company. Personally, my company is my baby as in I grew it myself and expanded the ideas of my original purpose to help as many people as I could but this also meant that I could no longer take on all my day to day tasks alone. This was a hard decision for me and I took advisement from many of the people who I look to as mentors and friends. They all told me relatively the same thing, it was time to hire a team when I could admit I could no longer take on everything.

Honestly, this took a lot of self inventory. 2019 was absolutely crazy year for me and I built my business and my mission from the ground up by myself and it took all of my humbleness to share that dream with other people. I think a lot of us can feel that way when it comes to owning a business. Sometimes it can feel impossible to find anyone that sees your vision the way that you do. It can be terrifying sometimes but it can also be humbling. Sharing your journey and your dream can implement a beautiful creative process by networking with others.

Hire Passion, It Cannot Be Taught

That is one thing that has always stuck with me through every process. Dave Ramsey said, “Passion is so key in leading and creating excellence that I will hire passion over education and talent every time.” This quote makes so much sense to me because I know that you cannot teach someone to have the same fire that you do. You cannot teach someone in a classroom to have the passion to work late nights and early mornings to make the dream come true. I would rather have a room full of obnoxiously passionate people than a room full of college degrees who only want to work a nine to five.

Everyone that comes to Officially Unleashed has to show me they have passion if they want to stay on the team. I make everyone who comes to me listen to the album “Empty the Bucket” by Inky Johnson before they decide to join Officially Unleashed. This album speaks volumes to anyone with passion and drive and I have big plans this year for my company and upcoming foundation. When you come to the acceptance that you cannot do it all then you need to look for someone willing to work at least as hard as you.

Trust Your Gut

The most important thing with trusting people to come into this carefully built circle you have around your company is to trust your gut. You know who you are and what your goals and dreams for your business are. You have to trust yourself to make the right decisions when it comes to bringing people into your circle of trust. You have to trust your gut when it tells you whether or not someone deserves to be in that circle.

You have to believe that you know what is best for your business. You have to trust that when you need advice that you will know who to go to. You also have to listen to that voice inside you on the days where you may still be working a little bit harder than everyone else. You have to be willing to give patience and compassion to those who are still willing to learn. Taking the time to slow down when you are on a whirlwind of ideas and inspiration can sometimes seem impossible. With the right team, you will be able to go to lengths you would have not been able to reach simply on your own.

Conclusion

Take a moment to congratulate yourself that you have grown your business to the point where you are ready to start building your team. This proves that you have been dedicated to growing your business and you are ready to take it to the next level. I truly understand every emotion that you may be having nearing the conclusion that you will still have to do it all because no one can handle your business like you. While that may be true, you have to accept the help in order to grow as far as you can grow.

This can either be a stressful or a joyful time for your business depending on how you decide to handle it and what point of view you decide to see it from. I hope you choose to take a step back in awe of what you have accomplished. You have taken your dream and your goals and grown them into something from a strong foundation. You now are in a position to hire a team to help put up the walls and build your dream into its greatest possible formation.

I hope you share your journey with me. I hope we can all help each other build our foundations. I hope that Officially Unleashed grows into a place and a family of kick ass entrepreneurs that motivate and help each other grow and live our bliss each and every day.

Related Articles:

https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/251736

https://briancasel.com/hiring-your-first-employee/

https://www.score.org/blog/it-time-hire-your-first-employee-here%E2%80%99s-how-know

business
2

About the Creator

brooke vecchi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.