Journal logo

Hello 100 Subscribers!

Should we open up the bottle of wine?

By Chloe GilholyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
4

I attempted a clear out on books, then I ended up buying more. I was having a look at my Vocal stats, and I got a really nice surprise. I have 100 subscribers now. How I got here, I don’t know, I can’t tell you.

That’s really nice to see and I thank you all. You get notifications when people subscribe, but you can’t see the full list of people who have subscribed. It’s a shame, cause I wanted to put a list on there and say thank you to all individually, although it would take a very long so here is my thank yous in advance.

I think I need to go on a well earned holiday! I’ve started being more active in social media groups again and feeling less burned out. At the moment I do have a banging headache and dizziness due to my time of the month (that comes and goes when it pleases) and no godly amount of water seems to be helping.

Sadly not a size 8 yet. (That’s PCOS for you, but a girl can dream.) I just feel stuck at my current weight. It always fluctuates between 95 and 100KG.

Speaking of holidays, one of my favourite places to go to on Holiday was Blackpool. I went there 2 months ago. I had a wonderful time, but the decline is obvious. Perhaps it’s because I took my tourist glasses off and walked around the area, or lockdown or brexit is to blame, but I saw a lot of desolate and abandoned buildings. The faded colours, broken glass and rotten doors was a bit of a downer.

They closed down Bonny Street Market and another indoor market that I liked. Bonny Street Market was like the Camden Market of the North coast, but considerably cheaper. My aunt was sad about the market being gone too. There’s a bit gap where it used to stand and whilst the tower still glows, the soul is still missing.

Blackpool, like the rest of the country is in need of a serious renovation. I found a vegan cafe that was wonderful, and by walking there to the beach, I was able to see the huge difference between the tourist and residential areas. The tourist areas has rows of street food, piers and sandy beaches. The residential areas has people fighting in their homes and so many little businesses closed up for good with no signs of anything else taking over.

Like many places now, there’s so many places to stay, but so many homeless people. Well sorry to have such a moan on my celebratory post, but I had to get it off my chest, after watching videos last night.

Watching the videos about it breaks my heart.

I could make a whole article or even a poem about that place. Gosh it was an amazing place. I got a really cute pink bag with Sanrio mascots on them. The chocolate wrapping using different logos to spell different words was clever.

I’m thinking of all the things I want to write about next. AO3 got attacked, which caused the site to go down. Luckilly, it’s back up. That could be something worth covering. It would be hard to imagine the internet without it. Much like how I can’t imagine life without Vocal. Vocal has kinda taken over as my main reading site. I like having no ads, and Wattpad and FF.net inserting ads between stories is a turnoff for me. I have Medium, which I rarely use and I can’t remember if I have Substack or not.

I also considered making a guide for Draft2digital. Some people in the writing group I go to have never heard of it and only use Amazon KDP. I had a lot of fun doing the menu based on people’s least favourite food. Vocal should make an official yucky food challenge.

feature
4

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Congratulations on 💯Subscribers😉❗

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Congratulations on 100 subscribers! That's an awesome achievement, Chloe and I am glad to be one of the 100! :) This was a lovely glimpse into your mind and world right now. I hope you feel better soon and it is a shame about Blackpool like other parts of the country and also yes, they should do a yucky food challenge and then Donna and myself could judge haha, joke! Loved this post!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I should celebrate my numbers, I suppose. Just hope you are feeling well, and not letting the inevitable downfall of our society get you down... ;)

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Congratulations on your 100 subscriber 💕💓I always wanted to open a non profit for the homeless . Stay away from caffeine, it does cause headaches.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.