Journal logo

GIG WORK

Doordash,Postmates,Pointpickup

By Tabitha SimpsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Experience

Side Hustle or full time successful employment? By definition A Gig worker is consider a person who works temporary jobs, providing some type of service to others aka, an independent contractor or freelancer : These workers have freedoms that most full-time traditional workers only dream of for example, setting their own hours, working from home, being their own bosses.

WOW lets repeat that part "setting their own hours, working from home, being their own bosses."

I know first hand what its like to be a GIG worker, I liken it to getting in at the right time with the stock market. The reason I make the comparison is simple.

1.Its the new financial growing trend. (MONEY)

2. Gig work possibilities are opening up due to the Pandemic (RIGHT TIME)

3. Gig jobs are being globally recognized as "real employment" which provide,insurance, savings, incentives and more life long securities.(SECURITY/PROMISE)

I signed up for DoorDash in 2018 thinking well maybe one day it will come in handy.. I had developed intense anxiety and was no longer working in my normal tax office capacity and felt that I would not be able to move back into the work force. Having two kids with one on the way to college, I was very afraid that my mental health had caused me to fail.

I tried everything to make money some of which I still do such as Affiliate Marketing. The problem was that Marketing type work requires you to be patient for the type of money that could even pay your bills. You have to fight to place on Google search and must stay hard at it every day with no guarantee.

In other words depending on others to pick you consistently...I needed something right then that paid right then that I could Control...

I let all of 2018 and 2019 pass me by struggling.. I ran into a friend that was doing Point Pick up ,which was delivering groceries to people at home. I downloaded that app as well to set on my phone screen for a just in case..

Then it happened, My sons scholarship didn't cover all of his expenses, we had to get work financed to the truck for travel and my daughter picked up a sport that consist of fees not to mention she is a teenage girl..on top of all of that Covid-19 was on the rise but so was the needs of people who could not get out the house out of fear,sickness or just choice.

So I began my first Door Dash which was me picking up fast food and leaving it on the porch ringing the door bell taking a pic for proof and going to the next order.

I was making 20-25 dollars an hour on the days that I felt comfortable. I was able to keep my 2006 Impala and purchase a 2018 Sentra (which I wanted for a long time) I later incorporated Pointpickup with the same type of results . I could go out and get 200 in an 8hr period . I decided to mostly work Evenings on the weekend.. I can go to all school functions, travel , pay my bills and I am the boss. I also added Post Mates (who pay daily)

I urge anyone who is out of work or just want to control their finances and freedom , I urge you to at least try it .. its over 100 GIG jobs including customer service from home..

These are the links to the ones that I work..

DoorDash (insurance offered) https://www.doordash.com/dasher/signup/Tabitha-Simpson-2072/?utm_platform=android&utm_source=fb

PointPickup (insurance offered) https://drive.pointpickup.com/start-driving-referral/

https://www.thebalancesmb.com/highest-paying-gig-economy-jobs-4163094

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.