Journal logo

From the Aquarian Journal - A Whiney-ass Expose'

Just write already!

By KJ AartilaPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2023
34
From the Aquarian Journal - A Whiney-ass Expose'
Photo by Japheth Mast on Unsplash

From the Aquarian Journal - A Whiney-ass Expose

*** Content Warning: Contains Whining, Self-pity and Explicit Language***

There are moments, as part of the human condition, when I just want to give it all up - throw in the towel - bury my head in the sand - blame everything or everyone else. Well, I guess it’s just one of those days (don’t listen to this song, which contains very vulgar language and references, if you are offended by such things). But, in the end, I just can’t, or won’t. Guess I’m stubborn like that. What I have learned over decades is that, once I spend a short time whining and berating myself, I like to take a deep-dive into my own reality, burst the delusions, and improve where I need to improve. The “fault” is rarely external. It’s not - Poor me - nobody likes me or my writing - they just don’t understand.

Who cares?

Instead, shouldn’t it be fun watching the way your voice develops, and finding the people who appreciate it?

OK, I’m going off on a tangent again, here. I’ll try to keep this more contained. I actually have a couple of points I’d like to address, regarding participation on the Vocal platform.

Vocal Top Story Choices

I think I was one of those constant Top Story earners for a while that were being referred to as participating in a “popularity contest.” (Thanks for demeaning my writing efforts, by the way.) Now my work is rarely featured, making room for new “populars.” Yes, I see new names, but I also see a new cycle of repetitive authors being featured. Most likely, it is because they are talented writers, and their stories deserve to be featured. Is it because they have found popularity and/or reached a certain level of engagement? I don’t think so. Many of my pieces chosen as Top Story had zero to no engagement before being chosen. Now they’re not being chosen, regardless. I have had my whine about it. Now it’s time to get to work. Not to whine louder, but to work harder. Time to step up my game. There are a lot of creators on this platform - not everyone can stand out. That takes skill and consistency. I'll work on that.

The Vocal Platform, Facebook Groups and Cliques

Having never been a member of a clique as I understand it, I’m tired of hearing about how the platform and groups focused around Vocal are encouraging cliques. I disagree strongly and am offended by the insinuation! I have found peers here through engagement. I have found friends through the sharing of common ground. Everyone in the world is not going to like me, nor am I going to like everyone, nor are we all going to get along swimmingly, because we are different - in goals, writing preferences, and communication styles. Being part of a circle of friends and peers is not a clique - it’s a circle of friends and peers. If you’re feeling as though you’re not “one of the crowd” then maybe a particular circle is not your crowd. Keep trying, create your own circle, do something proactive to create the world you want besides whining about other peoples choices.

Why do I even care?

It bothers me that I care so much - about Top Stories, or about being referred to as part of a clique. Damn! I should be working on honing my skills. I should be writing instead of obsessing over highschool-type antics and drama. I’ve aged way past that time of my life. So let’s just get on with the business of writing, shall we? Well, at least I am.

humorhumanityadvice
34

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • ghaderm11 months ago

    Great advice😎😎 Congratulations on top stories😊

  • Very good

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    😁 enjoyed this! Wondering if I am considered to be in a clique though now 🤣🤷‍♀️ We are all friendly sausages that's all I know. Will continue and write on!! ❤️😁✌️

  • Ranjan Baral11 months ago

    I love your creation..Aartila

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Keila, I love you and your thinking so much! I'm so glad you wrote this and I'm so sorry I'm just seeing it. I agree whole-heartedly on so many of your points. I feel like you said it perfectly. "Being part of a circle of friends and peers is not a clique - it’s a circle of friends and peers." I've never, EVER been part of a clique; I am the nerdiest nerd of nerds and have always been 😅 I appreciate your "whine" so much, your feelings are so relatable. I will always love what you write. :) Congrats on Top Story!! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎊, I never was part of the elite group, I just have fun doing my thing, rebel. You are an excellent writer, wether your creation receive engagement or not. Wining can be healthy . I really enjoy this creation of yours. 🥰

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    It's natural to have a little whine. I've had a few myself....boo hoo, I don't win anymore, boo hoo not getting as many top stories, boo hoo, not in the in crowd. I've whined about them all, and then like you, eventually I have to leave the pity party because it gets old. Congratulations on the TS. :)

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Your words speak the truth on so many levels. Congrats on the top story. Well deserved.

  • Harrison N.E11 months ago

    Nice

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Excellent advice!!! Congratulations on T S!!!💖💖💕

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    I understand how you feel on the top stories thing, it’s not like it’s a clique thing. Congratulations on top story! Keep writing and don’t let anything stop u

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    A big high 5 KJ 🖐️! WRITE ON Congratulations on the recognition 🥇

  • Komal11 months ago

    I am new to Vocal and would love to know what you think of my content. Thank you!

  • Komal11 months ago

    This was relatable!

  • Well said.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Very well said and relatable in many ways! Thanks for putting this out there and congratulations!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Hear hear! Well said and congrats on the TS

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    Cliques are gross. Thanks for sharing and making me feel less alone in that feeling. Write on 👏🏼❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.