Journal logo

From Mourning to Joy: A Testimony of Resilience and Divine Blessings

You are more than a conqueror

By Obiageli NwankwoPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
2

I am grateful for my life and my kids. Grateful to God for how far he has brought and kept us safe.

I look back on the day I received the news every married woman dreads,” I am calling to tell you your husband is no more”.

Here I was with three little children, the age range of 9 years to 6 months, no job, no savings, and was solely dependent on my husband for upkeep.

But as they say, necessity is the mother of invention.

Thank God that out of the ashes, came out a stronger and more resilient me.

It has not been rosy, there have been countless days of tears, fears, and hopelessness, days I feel so inadequate, days I feel like not getting out of bed, and nights I have shed silent tears and cried out into the pillow from the pressure of mounting bills

But funny enough, after just a few days of feeling like this, God gently sends my way a glimmer of hope, a burst of strength, a gentle nudging, or in some cases an outright manifestation of his blessing, all geared towards telling me he knows, he sees, he has not abandoned and he would not abandon me and my kids.

He walks and uses my mum, siblings, and friends as an extension of his hand and love, for my kids and me.

It has been a journey of learning and re-learning, of discovering strength I never knew I had, of coming to an understanding of humans and their fragility of emotion and promises, of a deeper walk and faith in God.

Looking back on that faithful day, 10 solid years ago, I feel so appreciative of my heavenly father who had turned my mourning into joy.

My daughter who was 9 years then is now 20 years this March and in the University, my son is 17, about to enter the University, and my last baby who was 6 months when her father left to be with the lord, and is about to enter Secondary school.

Is God not wonderful, from a complete stay-at-home mum to the provider of three teens?it is God all the way, bring unto my way divine helpers and opportunities.

Sometimes when the unexpected happens, I want us to know that life has not ended, God is up there opening doors we do not know exist for us.

In times like this God is a solid anchor, it is a time of drawing close to him, looking up to him for guidance and strength.

It is not a time of turning our back on him. Yes, you are allowed to feel dispirited and be angry but in your despair and anger remember we are enjoined to sin not.

Do not allow it to be the order of your day, during such time, you should tell him how you feel, have a no-hold-back conversation with him, if you are feeling betrayed, and tell him that, if you feel like screaming, scream away,( I have certainly done that ) but make sure you’re alone in the room, (we wouldn’t want others to have the wrong impression of our mental state).

This opening of our hearts to LiGod eases stress and opens us up to his rays of love and care.

No one wants issues like this but we are in a fallen world filled with uncertainties and danger and when life dishes a hand we do not want and is totally out of our control, Let's remember to look unto God who alone is the author and finisher of our faith.

When we do so, we will discover that many lands are waiting to be conquered by us. We will occupy, subdue and reign here on earth till Jesus comes.

advicehumanity
2

About the Creator

Obiageli Nwankwo

Just a mum who loves writing. Studied Mass Communication, ended up a journalist. Have taken on writing gigs on Upwork but l absolutely love the creative freedom that Vocal offers.Looking forward to finetuning my writing prowress with Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tamunoboma Wilfred12 months ago

    Inspiring

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.