Journal logo

Flourishing at 25 After Two Psychology Degrees, All While in My Parents’ Basement

Reflections on Finding Purpose Amidst Financial Struggles and Personal Discovery

By SumayaPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Even with seemingly sound preparations in place, life has a weird way of leading us into new waters. After finishing not one, but two psychology degrees at the age of 25, I believed I would be well on my way to establishing a fulfilling profession. But here I am, hiding out in my parent’s basement, battling a sense of purposelessness and an uncertain financial future. I had a different story in mind, but I’m starting to see that there is still a long way to go on my trip.

The completion of my two psychology degrees was intended to be a victory and a symbol of my perseverance and commitment. But the reality after graduation has been very different from what I had imagined. I was confronted with a job market that was incredibly competitive and financial demands that appeared overwhelming rather than the start of a successful career. The road I had previously believed to be paved in gold has suddenly begun to resemble a confusing maze.

Navigating the Labyrinth of Lostness

It’s simple to fall into self-doubt and comparison when surrounded by others who seem to be achieving success quickly. The thoughts “What’s wrong with me?” and “Why can’t I figure this out?” become a frequent companion. But I’ve come to understand that feeling lost at 25 is a common experience, an invitation to explore unexplored territory and learn new things about ourselves.

From Crisis to Self-Discovery

I started a quest of self-discovery amidst the chaos. I started to doubt my driving forces, my interests, and my idea of success. I learned during this period of reflection that life’s unpredictability can serve as an ideal setting for personal development. I rekindled interests that had been put on hold for a while and I discovered fresh passions that could change the course of my life.

Breaking Free from Societal Expectations

Success is frequently portrayed in society as being linear: graduate, get a job, move up the corporate ladder. But these timetables are not always followed in real life. At age 25, feeling lost is not a sign of failure but rather a chance to question these norms and rethink what success means to each of us. It’s an opportunity to make decisions that reflect who we truly are, even if it means diverging from the path that is expected of us.

Embracing the Unknown

The future is unclear while I sit in my parent’s basement. But I’ve come to realise that this uncertainty is a blank page on which I may draw my own story. It takes courage to embrace the unknown since it is a recognition that many of life’s most transforming experiences result from discomfort. It serves as an illustration that our routes aren’t always straight; they can wind around and back on themselves.

An Invitation to Rediscover

Remember that you are not alone if you find yourself in a similar situation and feeling confused after graduating from university. Although the road ahead may be unknown, it is full of opportunity. Explore the unfamiliar territory, embrace discomfort, and, most importantly, rediscover who you are. We are rewriting the stories of achievement, fulfillment, and purpose as we forge our own paths across unpredictable landscapes. Let’s thus tackle this portion of our lives with desire, bravery, and firm faith that we can find our way.

Our uncertainties serve as stepping stones and our doubts serve as fuel for development on our shared path. Keep in mind that every struggle is an opportunity to hone our abilities and reveal our potential as we traverse the unfamiliar seas. We develop resiliency via the unpredictability, and knowledge is discovered through suffering. The process, the evolution, and the transformation are what give something beauty. Accept this period with open arms and the unwavering conviction that we are capable of thriving.

career
Like

About the Creator

Sumaya

Step into a realm of inspiration—where resilience, unwavering passion, and the joy of lifelong learning intertwine. Join my journey, fueled by a passion for writing and reading, as we embrace uncertainty, spark growth, and redefine success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.