Journal logo

Five Priceless Lessons Self-Learning Taught Me

The universe is full of magical things patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper. ~ Eden Phillpotts, English author and playwright

By Ahmed Aribito HassanPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have never stopped wondering why the world ever got stuck on the old traditional guided learning style, instead of sticking to the more natural and original method of self-learning. Especially when self-learning proves to be a more effective style of learning.

Well, I guess it is just different strokes for different folks.

I unconsciously ventured into self-learning over my childhood years. I could not explain how I turned self-taught artist and writer then. But I have been loving it and learning very great lessons, ones I believe money can never buy.

Here are a few of the priceless lessons self-learning has taught me:

Nothing is impossible

Society's norms and ways somewhat programmes people to believe in certain limitations. One of such limitations is the belief that excellent learning can only be gained from guided learning institutions.

But many of our limitations are only our illusions. Going by society, I could never have pictured myself turning self-published author, blogger, copywriter, digital marketer and web developer without spending several months or years in a guided learning institution. When I look at how much have learnt through self-learning, just one truth comes to my mind: nothing is impossible.

No skill is unlearnable

You do not need to have any specific prior knowledge or background on a particular work to learn it. In fact, someone without any prior knowledge or background on the job may even learn and assimilate faster than a person with some level of related knowledge and background.

Why is that happening?

Another truth hits you in the face. There is no skill that is unlearnable, no skill that cannot be learnt.

Wait behind the crowd, or find the future yourself

Taking the path of self-learning typically meant leaving the crowd behind. Leaving behind society and its norms, and the massive human population that is already part of the popular delusion.

Even though I had been undergoing some sort of guided learning all my life, I personally embarked on my own self guided learning jamboree. I was not willing to remain with the crowd that has already been mind-washed by society. Now, I am lightyears ahead of the position I should have been, having a feel of what the future looks like.

Open mindedness is important

In self guided learning, one must be mindful of personal bias. This is something that is only possible if one opens up to both internal and external perspectives. A self-learner is a seeker of truth, not a knower.

This fact stamped on my mind the importance of open mindedness even in several other aspects of life as well. I practiced this in almost everything I do and the results were spectacular. Just like Phillpotts said, 'The universe is full of magical things patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper.'

Practice is king

The learning process is conceptually characterised by actions, outcomes and acknowledgements.

In guided learning structures, there are less emphasis on practice (actions). Instructors are sometimes not even practitioners themselves. Students can only rely on documented proven knowledge which are products of actions (practice) of some practitioners somewhere else.

Meanwhile, self-learning is naturally characterised by information and practice, because a self-learner is left the sole responsibility of acknowledging what is been learnt. Of which it is only through use that this can be done.

Here, I learnt that above all, practice is king. Knowledge must be put to test before we can claim we truly know.

By now, you would agree how priceless these lessons from self-learning are.

I will be so thrilled to hear about your own lessons from self-learning too. Click here to find and chat me on Twitter.

Thank you for reading!

#PricelessLessons

advicelistcareer
Like

About the Creator

Ahmed Aribito Hassan

Jack-of-all-preneur. Tech, management, creative and media professional. Highly spiritual personality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.