Journal logo

Finding Writing Jobs on Twitter

Tips and strategies to landing your next paying gig!

By L.B. BryantPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

One thing that I absolutely love about social media is the ability to exchange ideas and information with thousands of other people who share my passions or work in the same field. I’ve been on Twitter since September 2008 and over the years I’ve been able to make some very good friends and also find some amazing writing jobs. Recently on another social media platform, someone asked me how I could find writing jobs on Twitter and I gave a brief explanation but today I’d like to take the time to detail out how I’ve been able to find many well-paying jobs on the site. Please keep in mind that these strategies worked for me, but your mileage may vary.

The first thing you need to do before you even sign up for the platform is to figure out what field you’re aiming for. Once you know which niche you want to work in, find accounts related to that field and follow away! For example, I write primarily in the anime/manga niche so I follow many others who work in that field and just about every company based on my continent which produces these products. Many of these people and companies like to find good talent or helping others find good jobs and will post whenever they are looking to fill new positions or are looking to hire a freelancer. Even when they aren’t hiring themselves, many worthwhile accounts will retweet opportunities as they pop up on their own feeds, which re-broadcasts them to many more eyes.

However, Twitter is not a magical place where job leads are just going to appear on demand (though it would certainly be lovely if they did). When job leads aren’t getting posted, you have to dig a little deeper and also follow relevant hashtags and keywords. I recommend using a third-party site such as Hootsuite to set up columns to follow. For example, I have my Hootsuite set up to follow multiple hashtags including #writingjobs and #anime so I can keep tabs on new opportunities and what people are talking about at any given moment to get new ideas for articles to pitch when I do find a job I’m qualified to apply for.

These first two steps will probably be the most time consuming to get through as it can take a while to find worthwhile accounts to follow depending on what your niche is. Don’t be afraid to think outside the box and follow accounts that relate to topics adjacent to your niche; I write about anime/manga but there are whole other worlds of entertainment that I can also write about which is why I also follow accounts dedicated to video games, music, figures, light novels, and much more.

There is a caveat to this. While I’m not insisting that you have to become addicted to Twitter and keep your eyes on it every waking moment, it’s important to be a real person there. While I recommend keeping your eyes out for new job opportunities, also let people know that you’re a real person and not a robot. Share your works as you publish them to get your name out there and find your audience, be friendly to people who take the time to comment on your works, and make friends with others in your field. Some of the best jobs I’ve ever gotten off Twitter were because I had taken the time to cultivate meaningful relationships with others in my field.

The downfall to looking for work on Twitter is that the competition is fierce and timing is everything. This is why I have my resume and professional portfolio bookmarked and ready to send out at a moment’s notice. Once a job gets posted to the hive mind, you’re competing against hundreds (sometimes thousands) of other people who want the job as well. Always be ready to send your information and writing samples to the address listed in the tweet so you can get your samples in front of their eyes before anyone else.

Twitter can be a nightmare to wade through at times and it’s easy to get bogged down by the negativity you can find on the site. If, however, you have the time to roll with the punches and wade through the occasional high waters, you can find dream jobs and opportunities waiting to be claimed by you.

social media
2

About the Creator

L.B. Bryant

Anime mercenary for hire!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.