Journal logo

Explaining My Inspirations for My Fiction Stories on Vocal

Detailing everything that inspires the ideas and the drive for my fiction stories

By Clyde E. DawkinsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9

It's amazing. I never thought I'd be writing, well, anything on this wonderful site known as Vocal. I got here on a very, very happy accident. I was on a message board that centered on villainesses, and I was set on writing a review for one in particular, Jillian from the 2021 Lifetime film, Deceitful Dating. But something happened. The board was down. And I really wanted to get my thoughts out. Then I remembered Vocal. Could I actually write something on Vocal? I had known about Vocal for a while because another amazing writer has loads of reviews on the site, so I decided to join, and a review that would have been seen by very few people, turned into my first story on Vocal.

Less than four months and over 100 stories later, and I've become a natural. I've even written some fiction pieces on here. I never thought I'd write one short fiction story, let alone nine (and counting). I was never really confident about my writing ability; I have the imagination, boy do I have it! But could I really put it out there? The answer to my question, as of now, has been a resounding "yes!" But what inspires the stories I've written? That, in itself, is a long story.

For those who aren't familiar with my profile and my stories, I am a fan of Lifetime films. All of the fics I've written are all basically fantasy Lifetime films that I've made up in my head; literally all of them. I have many reasons why I cook these up, and they will be stated as I detail the fics I've written.

On The Prowl: This was the first fiction piece I wrote on Vocal, and it was inspired by my fanaticism for werewolves, especially female ones, which (even in 2021) are still scarcely shown on TV in film. I thought up this one because I remembered that while Lifetime has featured vampires, witches, and even zombies on their channel, they haven't featured werewolves, which, in my opinion, is a shame.

Secrets and Deceptions and A Twisted Deception: Honestly, out of the fics I've written on Vocal, I've read these two the most. I thought these up because I wanted to do a thriller-esque story centering on an LGBTQ+ couple. We really don't see those on Lifetime either; that needs to rectified. These two, like all of my fics, are also inspired by my immense fanaticism of villainesses, and that's why I write these fics: to create a thrilling story with a very sinister villainess, but it has to feature a strong heroine as well. And honestly, I truly believe I created the best villainesses in these two stories; I really do.

A Sister's Worst Fear: I'm a sucker for the abduction Lifetime films; you know the type--usually a female culprit who can't have children of her own deciding to kidnap one. At times, it's relatives who do this, leading to this story. I'm proud of this one, too, because I felt I created some strong characters in this fic.

18 and Deceived/Betrayed: This was my first attempt at a two-part story, and by this time, I was in a groove writing fics. Neither part took very long for me to write. Fun fact: I named every single one of the characters in the two-parter after members of the Colorado Avalanche (though one of them is not with the team anymore), so any hockey fans reading these two, if you see a trend of familiar names, that's where they're from.

Green-Eyed Doll: I was entering the Green Light challenge, and then I thought, "How about writing a story about a possessed doll?", so I did. Similar to most of my other fics, this was an idea for a type of Lifetime film that has never been done. And I know for a fact that we don't see possession (of any kind) in a Lifetime film. That needs to be rectified, too. Imagine an obsessed stalker going after someone posthumously--by either haunting of possession. That would be an amazing Lifetime film!

Sinister Stepmother: Another two-parter; though this one was inspired by my adoration for twists and surprises, and there are quite a few in both parts of this story.

Another reason why I write these stories: when I watch a Lifetime film and someone who I literally cross my fingers and hope is the villainess turns out not to be bad after all, I simply create my own. And I am never disappointed when I do. One more thing: I was thinking about the impact I have had regarding these stories. Some who have read them say I should write for Lifetime; can you believe it. One person told me that his daughter reads them and loves them. That stands out with me, it really does. All of that tells me, "Hey, you did well. You really did well."

So there it is, all in a proverbial nutshell. If you like my personal story, feel free to click the heart below, and if you really love it, feel free to send a tip (but only if you want to)!

feature
9

About the Creator

Clyde E. Dawkins

I am an avid fan of sports and wrestling, and I've been a fan of female villains since the age of eight. Also into film and TV, especially Simpsons and Family Guy.

Feel free to follow my social media:

Twitter - Facebook - Tiktok - Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS7 months ago

    wow this is great job you can also join my friends and read what i have prepare for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.