Journal logo

Everyday Hero

Corona Virus

By Lucnalie JironvilPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

Thank you to Charles River Recovery Center for COVID-19 patients for sharing your knowledge and taking the time to invest in me as your workers and making this job possible with easy material to learn and certificates. At the beginning of this job I did not realize that I can improve my communication and support others in the process without beating myself. Improvement is not about forcing and spending all my energy stressing about it, rather it is how I view myself as a worker. The change of becoming a better worker had to start with me and my thoughts. I realize I was not doing well because I was spending my time in the minor things instead of the major things. I also realize I could not change my circumstances and the season I was in; therefore, I need to change myself. I was thinking as long as I show up and do the work I will be just fine. When an assignment is given, I do not think about what was important in the process. I also did not think I had to be more authentic and more honest in my work ethic as well. I did not view my work ethic as a reflection of who I am and where I am in life. But COVID-19 and the help of Charles River Recovery Center have helped me recognize the importance of my work and other workers.

I do love my job, but what I do and the way I think is the major reason why my work ethic was not better. This job and the major epidemic have taught me one of the best life valuable lessons that will stay with me forever. It teaches me that I am not what I do, but what I do reflects who I am and what I think about. I also learned that sometimes it is not about how much I can work or how much I have in life, rather it’s about how I can use whatever I have and grow it; with the ability to accept change. If it does not go how it plans it is ok and learn from it. In this epidemic I learned that work ethic is one of the important skills needed for success, just like the 6 basic needs for survival as a human. Work ethic is used in every aspect of life, even if it is driving a car. This job was the beginning and the process of becoming Lucnalie for me.

Thank you to Charles River Recovery Center for being a part of this process of becoming and life changing mindset. Even though I always love working I was always scared to do more and be fair of being judged by others. I always thought working on one thing was good and not taking another role. I did not even consider some of the important skills that can be learned, because I always think people don’t take notice, or my coworker would understand that I just do what I assign. Taking some time to do a lot of reflection of my life and my way of doing things. I realize that even though I may understand what I’m assigned to do, my co-worker may have a different way of doing it and knowledge can be shared. The level of expertise can limit their understanding of why I do things a certain way. Getting under the layer of my thinking I suspected my blockage that prevents my success and better work ethic is in me. All those things I learned were not so new but how I apply it, and how I act was more important than just learning. In addition, starting to do instead of just learning was more important than just learning it. Practice makes improvement. COVID-19 has both pros and cons. I benefit more from the cons because it brings me into the process of improvement.

In the process of improvement, I have learned many working skills that were beneficial to me and my success in the workforce. Two of the most important working skills was organization and the importance of major details. During direct care for patients I learned that leaving important details lead to some major differences in the replication process for the upcoming staff in the next shift. I also learned that there is no such thing as being perfect. Regardless if those details were presented to the coworker in the next shift, there would have always been minor differences. Learning better organizational skills was important during the direct care for patients, because that would have given the coworker direction of what was important. The other most important thing that I learned regarding the importance of organization was during training. I learn the importance of focusing on one task at the time instead of jumping all over the place and letting other staft take other roles. Jumping everywhere was another problem I have in my working ethic and my thoughts. Lastly, I have learned, the ability to focus on one thing is important for success. I will continue to use everything I learn because they have helped me change the way I think about life and the way I think about myself as a worker. Thank you.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Lucnalie Jironvil

when I was 13 years old taking classes in Belize just over 1,000 miles away from my home town in Haiti. My father had informed me of devastating news that I was unprepared to hear – my mother had passed away from a stroke. This why I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.