Journal logo

Erma J

Presents The Revamp Mission Christmas: Pajama X Duffle Bag Initiative

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Erma J (Provided Photo)

Erma J is a serial entrepreneur, media personality, and music manager. Erma J has spent her time working with many adolescents within CPS. Her experience with group homes birthed the Revamp Mission Christmas where she and volunteers would give holiday gifts for those who don’t have the normal Christmas experience. This year she has decided to donate duffle bags and pajamas for individuals to have something more than the items they initially arrived to the shelters with. Revamp Mission Christmas: Pajama X Duffle Bag Initiative is to share some hope with the children who will spend Christmas a little more differently than another; blessing 3 shelters in Houston.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to become an entrepreneur?

Erma J:

I was inspired to become an entrepreneur because I became uncomfortable having my financial freedom and time controlled by someone else. I lost a job. That job was a crutch. My safety net in one second was all taken from me. I refuse to give someone else complete control over me like that again so, I’m making my own way now.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Erma J:

I love the people. I love genuinely seeing someone’s life change and aiding in the process of helping them reach their goal. I get complete joy out of watching the “light bulb” turn on for someone and suddenly....they “get it”.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges?

Erma J:

When you service “people”, you’ll always come up against “free will”. You can write the plan, help them make it plain but, they have to do the work. Changing minds, breaking habits, and helping to remove blinders has been a challenge at times, especially when some of my clients have grown comfortable sitting in the dark.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Erma J:

I have several memorable moments but, one of the most life changing ones is when my team and I was coaching a young woman who had made up her mind to leave a toxic situation. Her MIND was made up but, her HEART was on the fence. It was execution day and she called with the excuse that she didn’t have enough boxes and hangers to get her things. My team literally loaded up a truck, went and moved this young lady and stayed with her until every piece of clothing she had was hung up in her new place. That was two years ago. She’s thriving! She calls weekly to express her gratitude. A beautiful relationship born out of serving in our purpose.

Tammy Reese:

How did your work in media and music management begin?

Erma J:

Media and management were two different beginnings! I moved to Houston from a small town with a traumatic past and I was grieving. I was trying to find “me”. Long story short I stepped out of my comfort zone and went to audition. From there, I met a woman who was looking for a co-host on a radio show. I went for it and the rest just fell into place. I literally found another piece of the puzzle that makes up Erma J!

Management. I’ve been in management for other companies for years. I’m blessed to have some very talented children who love music. I shy away from involving myself in it for two reasons. The first was my “image”. The music they make is not considered “holy” and “Erma J” was branding so I didn’t want to be attached honestly. The second reason is because as a mother, I hoped it was just a hobby! Lol. HOWEVER, I have many gifts and I have connections. I also do not believe in judging others so, if I’m judged, it literally means nothing because if it doesn’t come from the most high, it’s irrelevant.

I’m my children’s biggest fan. I always have been. The loudest Mama in the stands. I finally realized that their music was more than a “hobby”....it was a passion to them. It’s something they love. It’s a release for them. They write their pain and spit it over a track. Just like I love speaking life through the airwaves or writing it in a book...they get that same joy and peace through musical expression. How dare I not support them wholeheartedly? How dare I not give them the best part of me? A music artist manager was born.

Tammy Reese:

What has your experience been like working with teens through CPS?

Erma J:

Working as a CPS Case Manager has been the most heartbreaking yet, rewarding experiences ever. These children are so broken. They do not trust. They are in survival mode at all times. If for one moment, I can make the tiniest of difference in their lives by, giving them a good memory or someone positive to look up to. I do it and it rewards me too!

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Erma J:

I’m an essential worker so, I never got to experience “quarantine” so to speak. Lol. The pandemic definitely slowed business down as for coaching and performing for my artist but, the most devastating thing of all...is the mask. I HATE THE MASK!

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about the Revamp Mission Christmas: Pajama X Duffle Bag Initiative.

Erma J:

Working for CPS, we have to do home removals. So often, children come to us with their few belongings in trash bags. They move from place to place so much. This is the 4th year for ReVamp Mission Christmas and we always help out children in need. This year we have adopted 3 shelters and we want to give each child a duffle bag so, when they move around they have something decent to put their belongings in and a nice pair of pajamas!

Tammy Reese:

What are looking forward to in the coming year?

Erma J:

Growth and the disappearance of mandatory mask! Lol. A new podcast AND I’ve connected with a group of women entrepreneurs in the music industry from Atlanta, Tampa, and New York and we will be launching a show called “Boss Talk”!!!!

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Erma J:

The podcast, the radio show, FINALLY a book AND a short film!!! 2021 will be EPIC!!!

Tammy Reese:

What is some advice you would give to anyone who aspires to be an humanitarian and make an impact?

Erma J:

Do it. Take action. Knock down the mental barriers that tell you that you can’t. You CAN. Just start and trust God to order your steps!

Keep up-to-date on Erma J and her career journey by connecting on Instagram.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.