Journal logo

Equal Work

For Equal Pay

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Why Equal Work for Equal Pay has not passed yet is something that is not getting as much attention as other movements that are more important right now. Women are often not paid equally at companies, save the ones I plan on building. I don't look my age so I deal with reverse ageism. Are you really almost forty? Yes, really. But anyway, how to fix the income inequality issue? Many employers simply do not get how to establish equal work for equal pay, only because they are stuck in the past, when many didn't know about how companies worked like this.

If anything, I have my older women friends on my case about how I'm too much or something, but I put this on ignore. I believe strongly in equal work for equal pay, which is not a hot-button issue right now so much so, only because we do not have many jobs available right now to fix this problem. In some ways, writing about this problem seems trite because of high unemployment right now due to COVID. The virus is making it hard to go out to eat, let alone go to work.

So I'm working from home for the foreseeable future because I have gotten it through my head that this is easier to do than commuting to work. Working from home is an easy commute, from the bathroom after your shower to the computer. My parents are vested in me finding work outside of the house, but a work from home job is just as good as the next job.

Anyway, what is a work from home enthusiast to do but work from home? I like the idea of not having to deal with coworkers save by phone. By a small miracle, my phone is still working, despite having dropped it a few times. Equal work for equal pay is a civil rights dream. But will it happen? Will a non-sexist male politician bring it about, since this year we have a total lack of female candidates trying to get to the presidency?

What will it take to make everybody demand equal work for equal pay? To demand more of a salary, a livable wage? The salaries of today are nowhere near able to keep up with the cost of living, and at least this is true in California. Equal work for equal pay is a concept whose time has come, but people just keep their nose to the grindstone, going to work, not thinking much about this situation, while they are trying to keep their job from going under. Equal work-- for everybody regardless of race, gender, or any protected category that is prone to discrimination, is not something anybody has thought about in serious detail since the feminist revolution. No, people are busy fighting the pandemic right now to think about this stuff, anyway.

Women didn't get nominated with the all-clear to run for president without actually ruffling a few feathers as Hillary Clinton did. She managed to get the nomination twice I suppose but then gave up, since she really is getting older. I do not plan on giving up as easily as Kanye West did, because I want to start off as running for city council and then for mayor when I do move to Los Angeles, and make sure I use that law degree for something useful. I'm still wondering how I'm going to get past the whole, I need to sleep 10 hours part, so that I can successfully get into real politics, as I was in student politics at Foothill College, for a long time back when I went to school there. I at least, know some Robert's Rules, which prepares me for the big leagues of getting myself a Parliamentarian position with City Council should the pandemic of COVID-19 wear itself out. It would be nice if it got to that point already.

Wow, just wow, the pandemic has messed with everybody's life and livelihood. We need concrete stimulus check packages just to keep the economy going. I've been trying to get a job since 2019 when the California AB 5 freelancer law affected my copywriting job. You must work for companies in California. Ok. I'm still trying to generate other streams of income for myself. So yes, equal work for equal pay anytime now.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.