Journal logo

Dreaming of Lobster-Cat Hybrids

Dream Journal Entry #4

By Andrea LawrencePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Pool House | Source: Pixabay

I had a dream that I owned or part-owned a pool house. I rented it out to a guest. I anticipated their arrival for several months. I had pictures of this person. They were from Germany.

I would walk around the complex cleaning and preparing it for the guest.

My husband and I were sitting on a balcony and eating candy. There were many Twizzlers. We discussed the upcoming guest. My husband sat to the right of me. He had a sparkle in his eye. He is a cutie.

Things got strange when the guest arrived. I took him to his place of stay. His name was Alan. He had long hair. It was a mossy brown color and in pigtails. He had thick glasses. A black t-shirt and jeans. He reminded me of a drama student or a D&D player. His voice oozed nerdy. He was very enthusiastic about the stay. He had a couple of bags of luggage with him.

He bragged to others about the cheapness of the stay. I think he said it was about $500 for the trip. We didn't use Airbnb. There was some other non-Internet method we used for scheduling.

Throughout the dream, I was attacked/approached by animals. Our pool area was taken over by a gaggle of humans. There were strong winds. The water was getting splashed out of the pool.

I wanted to approach an old friend of mine (who recently deleted me off Facebook after I invited him to my wedding reception. I guess he isn't my friend anymore.) I wanted to approach this friend; we can call him Gage. He was swimming in the pool and getting back in and diving into the water. He was surrounded by alligators. I was trying to warn him to look out for the gators. I couldn't approach him. He didn't want to listen to me.

Alan was a difficult guest. The pool house had '70s vibes. It had many rooms. It had walls with old, decaying wallpaper. I remember whitish stairs that went to nowhere. People gravitated to Alan. He was a celebrity of some sort or just rich. I'm not entirely sure. My impression of him soured over the course of the dream.

In one of the more memorable parts of the dream, Alan and his friends asked people if they would participate in a psychological exam. I volunteered.

The exam started with them spraying mist into my eyes. I kept wiping my eyes. It was uncomfortable. Everything was foggy. Like I was lost in a forest. It was similar to Silent Hill. I wasn't transported to another reality. I still sat before Alan and his friends.

When they stopped spraying my eyes, they started asking me questions. I don't remember any of the questions. I would look around the area, and it felt like the walls were slightly moving. It made me uneasy. I felt like I might see a ghost. I knew it was an aftereffect of the mist spray. But I was too preoccupied by the unstable visuals to really care about questions.

At some point, Alan got up and brought over lobsters to me. I was not a fan of this. I kept telling him I didn't want to touch a lobster, but he kept trying to put one in my lap or arms. I was very adamant that I didn't want to touch a lobster, and I wanted him to cut it out. I told him I didn't consent to this. I said it was wrong for him to keep bringing lobsters near me. His friends snickered at me.

A lobster was put into my arms. It did pinch me. It was painful. It had spikes that would come out of its orange body, not just its regular pinchers. It was a faded orange color, not your typical red color.

The floor was covered in lobsters, and at some point, they had cat heads and cat bodies. Imagine fat, round cats with lobster appendages going in all directions. The lobster-cats rolled around on their sides. They were goofy. I both wanted to rub their bellies and stay away from their pinchers. These creatures were bloated. They looked uncomfortable. We were in awe of them.

I remember leaving the pool house and going back to the pool area. I ran into an old high school friend. We were both our current ages (sometimes I am a different age in my dreams). The friend was in a black bathing suit. At times in our adolescence, she acted as a frenemy. She was very competitive with me and would steal my love interests.

She was chilling out in a donut raft. She was going on about men and how she wanted to get close to Alan. Let's call this old friend of mine Leslie.

I went to my mailbox. It was by the pool. I was given the results to a pap smear. It came back negative. I was worried I had an ovarian cyst.

For whatever reason, Leslie went on about her health problems. She complained that she struggled with severe menstrual cramps. She said it really sucked, and she wished it wasn't such an obstacle. She felt it made her less attractive. She could relate to my pain. She also made fun of me saying that I don't know how to flirt with men. I told her I was married. I told her she was also married and she was forgetting that. She was aloof about this. She didn't seem to care about her actual partner.

-----

When I woke up, I lay in bed thinking of my mom and brother dancing at his wedding some 15 years ago. They danced to the Carpenters song, "Why Do Birds Suddenly Appear?"

I scrolled through Facebook. I found my friend's ex-wife on there. She was promoting a sweepstakes deal to Hawaii. I clicked on the website and really wanted to sign up for the trip.

I was turned off by the 15,000 people who had already signed up. I couldn't figure out how to sign up. I got bored when it asked for my personal information. I gave up on the random trip to Hawaii. I wasn't even thinking of going there until today.

Then I daydreamed about making enough passive income through writing that I could take a sudden trip to Hawaii. And then I sat down at my computer and started typing this. I tried to remember all the details of my dream, but I waited about an hour before typing and trying to get this all out of my head.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Andrea Lawrence

Freelance writer. Undergrad in Digital Film and Mass Media. Master's in English Creative Writing. Spent six years working as a journalist. Owns one dog and two cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.