Journal logo

Did 2023 Ruin Us All?

A questionable year.

By SumayaPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
Did 2023 Ruin Us All?
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

It’s December.

We are now in the month of reflection and follow-up on our New Year’s resolutions.

I held onto a wish for my aunt’s cancer recovery while spending New Year’s in Scotland last year. Sadly, she left us after only five months in, leaving me with a persistent pain in my heart. Grief is a lingering companion, isn’t it?

This loss got me to reflecting on how short life is. It serves as a reminder to cherish each moment, take all the risks and acknowledge how short life is.

There have been some successes among the sadness. My dream of moving to Canada is finally coming true. I adore both Canada and Canadians. I worked hard to make my goal come true and I leave soon. England will always be my home, it shaped who I am today.

I worry not following my dreams because I know how short life is. I feel that I must grow, this big city’s comfort seems too comfortable.

In 2023, I also made sure to treat myself with more kindness. It involves accepting my flaws, appreciating my achievements and giving myself the ability to face life’s challenges directly without criticising myself.

It’s about realising that I’m with me all the time and that I should be treated with the same compassion that I give others. Through this process, I am discovering that practising self-compassion is more than just making resolutions, it’s an important form of self-care that opens the door to real personal development.

I’ll share some of my notes:

“It’s scary because I don’t know where or what I’m going to do this time next year. I really hope I get accepted into the doctorate training program or else I have no clue”.

It’s ok that I wasn’t accepted into the course. It’s very common for applicants to experience two to five rejections before being accepted. Perhaps at first I was a little too optimistic? But, I have faith in my abilities and know that I’ll do well as a clinical psychologist in the future. I’m willing to wait for the ideal opportunity, it doesn’t have to happen right away.

“I’ll trust in gods timing and planning. I’m only human. I fully put my trust in god…What is for me is for me and what isn’t for me isn’t for me”.

I wrote this message to console myself and in retrospect, it has done just that. It is a profound truth to acknowledge my humanity and to embrace an Islamic quote that says I am meant to be where I am right now. Even though acceptance can be difficult, it gives me peace of mind and encourages me to be in the here and now.

— January 2023

“This year has been the most traumatising year. Too much to handle”.

We were only four months into 2023, this was the day before my birthday and the last day of my previous job. Clearly, I was in an overwhelmed state. Now, looking back, I find myself in a more positive mindset. Although occasional tears still come, my new job keeps me occupied, providing relief for my need to overthink.

— April 2023

My message to you:

I hope you’ve been treated well this year. If not, I hope that the next four weeks bring about some good changes for you. Treat yourself with kindness. Think about all you do for other people, listen to your health and do things that make you happy.

Which New Year’s resolutions did you make and did any of them come true?

Thank you for reading! :) !

humanitycareeradvice
Like

About the Creator

Sumaya

Step into a realm of inspiration—where resilience, unwavering passion, and the joy of lifelong learning intertwine. Join my journey, fueled by a passion for writing and reading, as we embrace uncertainty, spark growth, and redefine success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.