Journal logo

Dear English Degree

What can I do?

By Ada ZubaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dear English Degree
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Years ago, I decided to pursue an English degree. I had no idea what I wanted to do after this pursuit. The late nights of finishing reading books or the muscles cramps from typing too much or staring at a blank page hoping that words would appear. I thought that I would do something with my education. I knew from the start I did not want to be a teacher.

No way! I did not complete school just to get through it all over again. I just knew two things when deciding to enroll; I knew I liked reading and I knew I liked writing. Beyond that I had no idea what I was going to do for the rest of my life. I graduated from my university and most of my friends already knew they were going to be teachers. I applied to this little company as a receptionist and I did get the position. However, after a week I was already scratching off my nail polish and eating from boredom. I had to quit. I had to get out of it. My job was answering the phone once a day and that would be the highlight of my job. I felt like I needed to do something more with my time. I could be helping people and actively making a difference. I starter researching schools and what programs they were offering. I made a list of pros and cons. I came up with an idea administration and helping people were my two elements that I wanted in a work place.

I put two hands together and got unit clerk. I knew someone from high school that had done the program I asked her more about it and she told me the details that I needed and I decided to apply. The program was titled Hospital Unit Clerk. I finally had a chance to prove myself that I was more than just someone who can read. Here’s the catch though in high school biology was one of my worst subjects, I was mostly nervous to be starting something in healthcare with such low grades from biology. Oddly enough school was going so well for me I couldn’t believe the grades I was getting. I never got anything lower than a B- And my highest grade was medical terminology.

Maybe I finally learned how to study, it took me a while to figure it out but I’m glad I did. Since graduating I worked as a receptionist at a high end furniture store, my boss expected a lot from me and I learned a lot because of it. After a year of sorting through materials and fabrics I finally got my ticket into the hospital. I was going to be sitting in the front doors asking four questions and getting paid. After about more than 150 applications I got the opportunity to be a unit clerk. The position was casual and that’s relatively normal for anyone starting off in healthcare. After being trained I had no shifts for three months. Of course I was lucky that my screening job was still available to me and still had full time hours. So after all this experience, I can tell you one thing: dear English degree you taught me how to read and be ok at writing. However, if you do not plan on being a teacher or editor, you will be going to school again and do something not even in your related in your field. I’ve got my managers on the sidelines they are cheering for me.

Dear English degree,

I do not want to be a teacher, and I wouldn't say I like editing. What can I do? I have an English degree, and I now work in a hospital. I do nothing that requires reading or writing in my job, but I had a good time.

career
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.