Journal logo

Day by day in Hollywood

The ongoing dream chase.

By Len DaviesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

As I settled into Los Angeles life the daily diary started filling up. here are a couple of excerpts from my book "Hollywood or bust".

Busy busy! August 17th 2011

Well the phone hasn't stopped ringing today. I'd like to say it was job offers but 90% of them were insurance salesmen. I kid you not. They must have got my details from some central database and decided en masse to harrass me. The first few were handled in my usual charming and gentlemanly fashion, but after number 15 I got decidedly shorter in temper. The only saving grace was that they were asking to speak to Leonard, not Len as any agent or casting director would be, so it was easy to distinguish and hence dismiss them.

There were a couple of calls asking me if I'd be interested in doing a couple of roles, unpaid again, but as I said, while I'm doing nothing I'd rather be in front of a camera anyway. I did apply for one post today that I thought I wouldn't here in LA, and that was a theatre production, playing a British Journalist. Only about 12 performances over 14 days if I get it, but the universe and my instincts told me to apply for that one. Let's see what happens. Also applied for several other productions today, and now that I've discovered the 30 day rule about AFTRA, I've been applying for jobs under that union as well. A lot of TV is covered by them, so definitely worth making a go of.

One of my favourite people, and an incredibly talented and beautiful person, Britani Knight (Real name Saraya-Jade Bevis) has her birthday today, and her name is going to be heard around the world very soon as she joins the ranks of WWE very shortly, albeit in their developmental school in Florida initially, but trust me, the moment that lady hits the main stage, the World WILL take notice. Happy Birthday babe xxx

So tonight is the first taping of season 2 of Mike and Molly, and I can't wait. It's going to be so good seeing them all again, and according to Reno Wilson's Tweets, they've been having a great time. Season 1 was wonderful, season 2 will be even better. Watch out for it on a screen near you from September.

Do or do not - There is no try!

I had 2 good auditions today, the first was for the sitcom and was very fast, with no video camera, just the main casting director. I think I did ok, but time will tell. The second had no lines, just physical drama and I know I did well there as the word 'Excellent' came from somewhere in the room, so I should know soon on that one as they film on Tuesday.

As I've totally gone onto a health kick now I decided it was time to spoil my feet lol. Well they do most of the work on the hot LA streets right? A nice hot soak and some special health restoration moisturizing cream had them feeling good lol. It IS amazing how we take things like feet for granted, but with the rest of me being looked after properly, it would be so wrong to neglect them like I have for so many years.

Started preparation for "The Magical History Tour" this coming Sunday at 3pm EST (Midday LA or 8PM UK). It's still strange not doing the show from a studio but it seems to be working well so far. I've received some positive messages about it and just need to build up the audience now. Still have the fun of picking the featured album, but hey with so many thousands of EXCELLENT albums to choose from it shouldn't be too hard right?

My colleague and I (another British actor just moved here) were talking over coffee about the whole business of becoming an actor in LA, and when you get the visa, you feel like you've won the lottery, but it's only then beginning, and that's the part people don't see. Every single famous actor or actress have gone through this routine (except the likes of Charlie Sheen who was born into the business and didn't have top sacrifice so much). It involves a daily round of posting headshots and resumes, trying to find Agents or Managers (although I'm lucky to have a very good manager of whom I'm VERY proud), applying for castings from the multitude of sites that advertise them, going to auditions, networking and just generally SELLING yourself. I'm luckier than most as there appear to be a lesser amount of middle aged caucasian males as there are good looking young things, but it's still VERY hard to get paying work, so survival is something you become acutely aware of. I can honestly say that I'm more actively pushing myself now than I ever have in my life before. Just goes to show you, chasing the dream can be very tiring, and only those that keep on going with a positive attitude WILL make it. The future is bright (but not necessarily Orange lol).

career
Like

About the Creator

Len Davies

Len Davies was born in Wales and grew up in the 60’s heavily influenced by the music and TV of the time. He is a DJ, Actor, Musician and Producer in the entertainment field. with 52 years in the industry he now lives & works in Los Angeles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.