Journal logo

Crunk Boi Ent

The Company That Never Was

By Jabari Tuggles Published about a year ago 20 min read
Like

The beginning

I wasn’t the strongest in the booth only recording one song with Rocca years later. I was pretty much the outcast. Asking to be a part of the Hoodlumz Mafiaoso with included dirty, Pimpa and j Rocca (Rocca) at the time. Dirty didn’t leave Crunk Boi but he was playing both sides. Me being new to Crunk Boi Ent. There was a lot of difference. I was Like Arab with Soulja Boi. The one people ask to hear but never really heard.

Chuck story

I’d never thought things would go the way they did. After being told on numerous occasions it was a terrible idea. Do I listen of course not I stuck to my guns and dived in head first. Learning as I went things went pretty good. That’s until everybody quit on day one. That was the first sign of our down fall. Argument after argument we went on accomplishing nothing but managed to argue about that. Buck decided to pretty much say screw help building the company to chase his movie. Dirty quit through the gate because he didn’t like me in charge running everything, starting the company. Rocca hung in for a while until he became full of himself as usual. Getting big headed listen to dirty throw fuel on the fire of Rocca ego. Rocca was the first artist signed to the label which I knew was a horrible idea but didn’t have to much of a choice. I already was in over my head taking on a partnership with buck.

Pimpa wasn’t around when things kicked off. Being in Alabama it wasn’t much I could do But wait his return.

My bro drew from Florida hit me up telling me we should slid out there. His og stayed next to a director that be shorting video and movies. I was down I talked with everybody, told them the news. They wasnt having none of it, it was all to good to be true. Or they didn’t want to spend the money to go. Worried about not having a place to stay. Which was and excuse not to go really. I wind of moving out there for three Months. Which worked out got to meet lot great people that’s in the industry. Plus got a contact to Kodak’s producer. Drew worker insurance he was always getting connected with people. Trying to help me out he just didn’t really like my cousins. He knew how they was when it came to the business. I meet this chick trama Cuba she was a rapper in south Florida. She was down with the team. None of the team was feeling it. So we kinda fell off over time. Low key it was like she was texting me to see if I was how drew said I was with the music shit.

The start

Things was moving fast after being released from prison. I was amped and ready to get the ball back rolling. Those five years was starting to take a toll on my mental. I still had faith in the music. After heading over the years how this was going. I heard that buck got screwed out of a deal wit S.O.D money gang, soldier boys label. Which I expected sad to say but I know my cuz and he don’t listen for shit. I been telling him to learn business and get a LLC and trademark his name before it got taken. Not didn’t listen to me then Chris brown came out with C.B.E which was the initials for bucks label Crunk Boi Entertainments. I really never let that down it was stupid on his part. Buck and I talked for a while about actually turning Crunk Boi Ent to a company. Which he just asked me to do everything since I knew how. Taking it into consideration I did. Dumb decision I made thinking he was gonna help since it was supposed to be a 50/50 thing but no. I had to come out of pocket solo to make everything legal. I wasn’t tripping on it at first since he wasn’t working but that shit get old quick literally.

Everybody was excited once i showed them the LLC forms from LegalZoom stating we was officially a LLC. It was exciting but it was also time to take all the talking and turn it into action. Everybody was game in helping build the company in word. Talking about how they’re going to do this and do that. Pitch in with this, pitch in with that. What they was gonna do or how we should do this and that. Nobody really know anything about business but me. I knew more then all of them at less. After taking entrepreneurs/ business classes while doing time gave me a good business since. 5 years with nothing to do but read books and try to learn done useful shit. We had great ideas at the start as the days passed I was the only one holding my end of the bargain. This lead to the first round of arguments because months was starting to pass and nothing was getting done. Everything was on my shoulders with a lot of money being tied into this adventure.

The first year literally started with a lot of naysayers and negativity which was expected by all. Being told by every family member I was crazy as hell for putting up the funds to start the company. I was working a traveling gig at the time making great money. No responsibility no bills no nothing just cash to burn. I thought it be a good investment for the company if everybody worked with me. We all make great money giving us five time the amount to fund the company. I thought completely wrong, but out of the grace of good I had good faith. Pulling some strings I got everybody in to my job thinking things are going to turn out great. After telling everybody about the conversation me and my stepdad had about growing the company. He was going to get us in contact with his good friend in music if we can manage to come together with five to ten grand to show our seriousness and devotion to building the company. Which turned into an argument. they all thought it was too expensive and they could do it free. I let it go and got everybody to agree on pitching in every week when we got paid to support the growth of the company me and buck taking the bigger sacrifice since we split the company 50/50. I really Thought the company going to boom our first year and we are going to prove the family wrong on this one. Once the money came in everything the family said came true. Nobody pitched in everybody had some excuse or another way they cant pitch in and help leaving me to build by myself.

It really pissed me off hearing excuse after excuse. Lie after lie after lie insulting all my little intelligence. like I wasn’t out blowing money with them. Like really how you gonna tell me you ain’t got it when we just blew through two grand at the strip club. Fool trying to convince me he didn’t like I wasn’t with you help you spend yo money. I told the man ten times before we went to the club put the bread into the company at less a couple hundred. But no. Then can’t do it this week some come up. That was just dirty, rocc and buck shit they worse Rocc bought a new gun and then plays broke wanting to buy jewelry an shit. Buck blow all his money on weed liquor and pussy. Then blame it on taking care of his son. Like wow fam that’s what we on we supposed to be partners. But I still managed to hang in their fir the sack of not doing him like croc in the McDonald’s movie.

Investing wasn’t my strong suit but I was getting the hang of the does and don’ts spending money. Investing in studio equipment to cut all cost on product. Marketing was always the most expensive of it if you really wanted good results that wasn’t a scam. We all argued constantly over not doing nothing to help me with the company. And the fact that they would never take the time to read anything about running a business. Most conversations was like talking to a brick wall. To be honest I probably would’ve getting further with the brick wall. Let everybody tell it, it was my fault the company never got off the ground. I didn’t fund Rocc’s music or put money behind dirty or pimp. Niggas wouldn’t even put Koneh behind the damn self. Then got the never to tell me put money behind you. If you did you get nowhere. I ain’t got time for that I’m trying to make money. I know everybody was tired of me getting on they asses about not doing shit. One point rocc told me to stop calling him if I’m just gonna talk about music. With everything we need to do which lead to more arguments cuz everybody other then me. Wanted to talk business while everybody else wanted to talk about hoes and weed, or partying anything other then business. Which I agreed well more like fuck you too. Family or not don’t care if we ever talk. How I’ve been feeling after watching my money go to waste.

Things started to go side ways for a bite as everybody started doing they on thing and we became more of enemies at less I did. I threatened everybody hell luckily it wasn’t somebody else. Fucking with the wrong people money get you killed quick. But I signed up for the goofy shit when I invested in to the LLC from the jump. A year and Six months passed and only I was the only one still investing ably myself. Ready to quit music for a while at this point. Nothing was going the way it was supposed to buck jagging all his money on weed, women and partying. That was another argument which got nowhere at all. It was problem after problem. The so called company was just a piece of paper that meant absolutely nothing. It wasnt worth the ink they use to print the shit for all that matter.

It’s was getting close to our second mark. when buck put me in tune with AZ (Sean walk).

Who wanted buck to manage him. I insisted that buck bring him under the label. Buck pulled a buck move on me. Made every excuse why he wouldn’t do it. Until one day I had met with Sean about being the main artist for the company. Working together to put each other in the position we want to be in. AZ agreed and became the second signed artist and the main artist since Rocca ditched me. Everything worked out great for a while. I become a manager more the a label. But the manager thing wasn’t all that bad. I was learning a lot working wit Sean. Every do and don’t when marketing and artist on a small budget. It took some research but I found some legit company’s to work with for marketing since I wasn’t a big social media head like most of the world. Really as was my motivation to keep moving forward with the company. We came a long was to just throw in the towel all of a sudden. Plus me and Az had a long chat about the company any way. I told him I was thinking about quitting. Which was bad since I just talked him in to signing with me. That woulda been a real dick move on my part. I couldn’t do that to him.

Everything came fast as the year mark came and went we got our first letter in the mail that said we had 120 days to pay for our annual report for the company or risk losing it. Sad part is the company hasn’t made any real income. Beside a couple dollars hear and there from streams but that want not major due to low stream count. I was running out of funds due to investing through out the year. Trying to support the artist, company, and myself. Things was getting hectic. I reached out to buck only to tell me we got to come up wit a plan. Like he wasn’t getting a check every week. Like how hard is it to invest in the company. It was almost like niggas didn’t wanna see the company succeed. I managed to take the time out my day to talk to buck and see what was really going on. I had to get to the bottom of the bullshit it was starting to drive me crazy. I listened to him tell me how he really wasn’t feeling it. Nor taking it seriously until he seen the papers but that’s no excuse. Nigga could of st less told me before I invest my bread. Swear if I had a gun I’d be down a family member. That’s out right disrespectful as hell. Let me fuck my money up like that. Again I had to remind myself I signed up for all the goofy shit. It was clearly stated in the terms and conditions of doing business with my family. I clearly ignored it when I accepted this. Can’t cry over spill milk so I made a plan to get things on track. After done finesse so bread, I managed to pay the fine and keep up with the company expenses. On top of moving out of state.

THE SECOND YEAR

Everything was off to a good start after a couple of hurtles. I managed to pull through juggling my life expenses and business expenses was becoming second natural. About half way through the year I get in tune with my cousin Tevin that make beats thru dirty and buck. They where at his crib visiting while on a job. The first time me and Tevin talked he was down with the company. Becoming our permanent producer. Best part he was free for the team. At first Tevin wasn’t really making much money off his beats till I set with him and put him in the position. Being part of the company we need to make money. Which turned him into a monster later on. It wasn’t long before my work with Sean went unnoticed. I got a call from my lil bro telling me about his homie wanting me to manage him and he was gonna put me in tune with his cousin t-bone (king bone).That’s a local artist in the town making major moves.

Our first convo me and bone got down to business he put me on a lot of game. Helping me build my artist fan bases. Teaching me a better way to promote on a budget and getting great results. That when Monet came in a little bite better our stream count was nearing the 100k mark. Everything was looking good company was till buck got himself fired.

Now I was completely on my own with the company. Me and buck never could see eye to eye still. He wanted to finesse the wrong shit. It was never business with him at all. I had the feeling he wasn’t taking any of it seriously and it showed. Day after day went by with empty promises that were never filled. At this point I knew I wasn’t gonna get any help. Unless buck managed to hit the lottery or something. And still I had better chances seeing Jesus seven times. It was kind of funny because bucks all wats talked about coming up with a plan to build a steady income for the company. But never put in work to gain the income. Everyday he always found something better to do then help out.

Covid took the world by storm which wasn’t to much of a bad thing. It did open the door for opportunity bring in some income. Hell why not if it works. We got the government funding which helped out a lot. Since we really didn have much. That was a big mistake on my behalf. Once everybody got wind that the company was approved. Everybody had their hands out. Which I gave nothing which turned into a argument. Buck hit me with the hey chuck you said I need a computer. Since we got the money for the company. You can buy me one. Hell to the no I told him. I was using the funds to buy him shit. He wasn’t gonna buy for himself. He ain’t put noting in for two years and want some for free. Get the fuck on please miss me either the bullshit. By this time he was working on his movie. Since he swear he can’t multi task. I stopped caring and told him go head. Ain’t like he help me for shit anyways.

Once the movie was finished it was like a weight was lifted off everybodies shoulders. Buck hit me with the man cuz my finna get serious now. I got the movie done now I can focus on the company. What you need me to do. Everything I’ve been telling you to do for the last year. I told him. What’s that, he replied. Learn business, I said. How you expect to succeed if your not preparing your self for success? I asked. We had a bounce of great ideas but that just what they where ideas. Nothing was getting done. We need to fund this company. Ever dollar counts no matter the amount. Something is always better then nothing. I continued. He agreed with me for the most part. Like normal with wasn’t long before we had to get off the line because he had a chick coming over. Which was more important then getting this strategy together. That was usual I was use to the fuckery by now.

After long nights after work sitting up on my computer trying to make the company look professional. Plus something more then just a piece of paper. This was coming along I started getting new contacts and people to join the company. But it was looking kind of iffy since the funding was low and I was back up. Trying to keep up with work and the artist it sucked. Working 10 hrs a day then having to manage two artists and a producer at the same time. I had pick up one of my cousins from the town Charlee Wop. We had a good run for the moment to his brother got killed. Things slowed down got him. Which I understood that was a hit to everybody. We fell out a Lil after that. At the end of the day I had a business to save. I didn’t have time to slow down or stop for any personal matters. At the same time Tevin was hitting me with artist we was working with. That he told about me they wanted to join the team. I was thrilled at the sound. The company was growing slowly and steady but falling fast at the same time.

Third year

This was the last straw wasn’t planning on doing nigga dirty but I’ve been fuck around to many times. Honestly I got sick of it. Everybody out of the company. Since I own everything, paid for everything no body deserves nothing but me. Until I get half of everything I put in. Some may say I’m bogus but fuck’em if they not helping to support the cause. I’ve noticed everybody got an opinion when they ain’t trying to help. Tevin is down with the with the new game plan that I have salvaging the company. Giving it new light in this final year. It’s either make it or break it at this point.

I lost my job trying to get my license in order which threw the biggest monkey wrench in the mix. Now there was no income what so ever. Everything was coming to an end I couldn’t afford to keep the site going. Nor pay for any of the other company expenses to keep it afloat. This was my end point with the company. I told buck I was done officially if the company falls it falls I ain’t saving it no more I did for the past two years solo. If he ain’t gonna put up what it cost then. He doesn’t deserve it. I told my Tevin as well who only told me to just drop everybody and continue solo like I been doing. He made a valid point I’ve invested or 50k at this point. A lot of trial and errors but it was worth it tho. I learned a lot from the experience so far. Plus Az already knew I wasn’t working so he was doing his own thing. Yet still wanted me to manage him. I really couldn’t let them down after coming this far along. Buck tried his best to convince me he was serious and was ready to get the company going. I didn’t believe a word only a fool would. I learned early in life people will always tell you what you want to hear to get their way. I had to be shown no told .

We managed to get a pod cast going for the company thanks to our friend bear. That we brought into the company. He had his own production company Dream Bear Productions. He was trying to get off the ground. I had the idea of working together with him being our designated video guy for the artist. But to me bear wasn’t all that serious about his craft. Don’t get me wrong he invested into him self but when it came doing to putting in real work and devotion to learning and perfecting your craft he lacked. It was a buck situation it was more personal b.s then business. Getting high and playing the game was always more important then business to everyone. Plus he had the since that I wasn’t a good business partner from out siders with how me and buck is with the company. I had to tell him, just look at who built the company and made it legit. Wasn’t nobody but me. Not trying to be a sick about bout it but it was fact.

Me and bucks came a long way. We finally stop the arguing and found a sliver of peace in the madness. With was pretty good for the most part. I decided to give him another chance on the strength he was getting funds. An act like we was gonna help support the company. Truth be told I ain’t really heard from the nigga since. I ain’t mad cuz I knew he was full of shit.

The third year was

Today was crazy me and buck argued yet again. Over stupid shit. But really how hard is it to answer a simple question. I hate when people try and think about what they think you mean instead of just answering the dam question as it’s presented to them. Life would be so much easier. I managed to get some of footage of buck. On the documentary I wood king on bout the company. I asked he answered and didn’t like how he answered when asked what I said. After telling the man twice I kept it 100.

straight raw. Wait in you God forsaken mind make you think you shouldn’t. Then get mad at me cuz he fucked up. No you tell everybody and ruin the surprise. It’s all good. I ain’t tripping. Things gonna work out in the end.

It’s crazy it’s almost like nobody wants to do things the right way. Is investing to become more hard. One of the dumbest arguments we ever had. How trying to make the company look professional A bad thing. Or even putting the company in a position to access money. When clearly no one wants to put in real money to actually do something. But ima give it one more go. See how things work out.

businessbusiness warscareerfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.