Journal logo

COPYWRITING HEROES

Super writing powers

By Phong NguyenPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Wouldn't it be great if we had Super writing powers that would trigger our readers to take action every time?

Like a Superhero saving the day. But alas, we must come back to earth. But what if? What if we could have the ability to spin a word that would inspire or influence our readers to take action? Wouldn't that be great?

See, we all speak from the same words and alphabets we were taught with, yet, some have the ability to put words into play that makes it fun or impactful. Like a poem for instance, or rappers putting rhymes and bars together.

This is what copywriters do.

I remember having a hard time doing oral presentations in front of my class, and I'm sure I wasn't the only one feeling terrified.

But who knew that writing would be so fun. Like writing your own movie script and deciding the outcome of the hero and the antagonist.

In our world today, heroes exist everywhere, and I'm not talking about the ones putting their lives on the line to protect us. Salute to them by the way.

I'm talking about the moms, the dads, the sons, the daughters, the early risers and the late-night owls. The ones doing whatever it takes to achieve their goals and build their own LEGACY.

We are all heroes in our own unique ways and circumstances. I know, sounds cheesy but stay with me.

For me, it's helping clients craft a message that moves and inspires. Words that compel someone to take action. These actions turn into inquiries, and through fine-tuned efforts at every phase, we can expect to see those actions turn into paying customers.

This allows me to be a hero for my clients. And my clients turn into heroes themselves for their clients. Win-win as they call it. That's just great business in my books.

Here's what I do to setup the environment for me to be creative. While it may work for me, I invite you to explore different ways to setup your own environment that will trigger ideas so the creative flow kicks in like a long stream of awesome contents:

Your environment is important

I'm a big movie and game geek, for this reason, I have lots of collectibles on my walls and shelves. This may not appear like it, but having my collection placed all around my office actually helps trigger lots of ideas. I look at Bruce Lee and it could trigger a quote he made about mindset.

I could look at a Final Fantasy 7 toy and it could help recall Sony's Playstation's commercial on its release date back in 1997. (Gosh, I feel old all of a sudden). This helps trigger an idea on marketing.

Vision board

There's a vision board on my wall that includes pictures of where I want to go next. What I want to own, pictures of my sons, something I want to build in my house or a goal I want to achieve.

This is a great reminder of why we do things. It helps prime myself up and I go do the work. No procrastination.

Books

I try to read 1 book a week or every two weeks. I stack books in sequence I want to read, and sometimes other books I've already since I enjoyed some of them or they would have great contents I can reference back to on a rainy day.

And when I get stuck, I might flip a book haphazardly and in doing so, I often discover something great I can add.

Content collecting

Ever heard "Good artists borrow. Great artists steals"?

There's so much content online nowadays that it's virtually impossible to come up with original content.

For this reason, it's quite common to get ideas from other peoples' contents. Just be careful for contents that are copyrights. And give credit if you're going to borrow content.

What I do, is collect contents when I'm leisurely browsing social media, and when I spot a good post, tag line or article, I save them for future referencing.

Lucky totem

Remember the totem Leonardo DiCaprio used in the move Inception? If you haven't, watch it, you're missing out on great movie making.

I bought one that is similar where I spin it on my desk and it would spin seemingly non-stop.

What it does for me whenever I spin it, is that it helps me take my mind away for a moment as I start to glaze at the spinning totem. As if hypnotized, it slowly takes me away and surprisingly, it helps open up a different part of my brain and "voila", a new idea arises. As if the mind is so attached to a previous idea or "Wall", that when it gets distracted by a trivial thing such as the spinning totem, it suddenly allows the mind to open up to new perspectives.

It doesn't always work of course, otherwise, I'd call it my magical content creator.

What about you? What do you do to help your mind become creative? Any best practices or perky ways that is unique to you?

#copywriters #bloggers #contentcreation #creativeminds

how to
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.