Journal logo

Converting a Canning Shed into a Smokehouse (Part 1)

Make a useless shed into something useful

By MICHAEL ROSS AULTPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Canning Shed

Introduction

In 2012 my wife and I purchased some land in North Carolina. In addition to our dream retirement house there was a second smaller house we could rent out, a 3-stall barn, a huge workshop/shed a small canning shed beside the rental and a small shed that had probably been a canning shed but was now all that remained of a fertile egg farm, an egg candling shed.

Figure 1: The Canning/Egg candling shed

The egg candling shed is shown in Figure 1, it doesn't look too bad from outside, but take a look at figures 2 and 3.

Figure 2: The Lower Chamber

The lower chamber was half filled with dirt, an old 2-piece electric feed bin and a decaying Lazy Boy. The ceiling was falling in and creatures big and small had been living and leaving remembrances for years, not to mention spiders, snakes and crickets.

Figure 3: The Upper Chamber

The upper chamber, full of packing peanuts, old waterers and pipes. Oh ya, dirt too. You can see the rotted boards I needed to replace and the mess covered up some rotten floor as well.

After several hours of work and a trip to the dump and moving a couple cubic yards of dirt the chambers looked like Figures 3 and 4.

Figure 4: Lower chamber after initial cleaning

As you can see, the brown stains show how high the dirt was piled in and around the 150 pound metal feed bins. Notice the sagging ceiling, I later removed it and all the nasty, rotting insulation, animal droppings, dirt and leaves that was inside it came tumbling down requiring another cleaning and trip to the dump.

Figure 4 shows that there are several rotten places both in the walls and floor that needed to be replaced.

Figure 5: The Upper Chamber after cleaning

Notice that there is no door, also, behind the metal is just the hill, no passage to get to the door, if there ever was one.

About this time, I had some grading done and some gravel put down. While the excavator was there, I had them excavate where I wanted a staircase so I could get to the top chamber without using a ladder because there were no stairs and no opening between the upper and lower chambers.

Figure 6: Excavation for stairs

Of course, the stairway excavation also needed a pathway behind the shed to get to the future door. Unfortunately, that had to be done by hand. The first version, which wasn't wide enough, gave way to version 2 shown in Figure 7.

Figure 7: Excavation for path to back door.

Here in the foothills, we get a lot of rain, so to keep the passage from filling in with mud I needed to put up some sort of barrier. I checked on landscape ties and concrete blocks and other ideas, but they were pretty costly, so I decided to go country. I used fence posts and tin roofing.

Figure 8: Left, the fence posts in place, right, the retaining wall in place

Once the pavers were laid out and the wall stabilized, we were ready to build the steps. My Son-In-Law is a general contractor and with his help it was a snap.

Figure 9: The stairs built and inplace

Next, I replaced all the rotten wood in the walls and floor and built a door using the lumber I had milled from the trees on the property. Since the original wood is all rough milled, I assume that's where it came from as well.

Figure 10: Upper chamber with rotten wood replaced and door built

While all this work was being done onsite, I designed and had a smoke generator built. But that must wait for part 2.

how to
Like

About the Creator

MICHAEL ROSS AULT

I began writing at age 13. Short stories, novellas, poetry, and essays. I did journals while at sea on submarines. I wrote technical books for a decade before I went back to fiction. I love writing, photography, wood working, blacksmithing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.