Journal logo

Coming Closer Everyday

Journal Entry 3-3-21

By Audie EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
13
Coming Closer Everyday
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

3:53 p.m.

Submitted a story today about women, strong women, and how the women from WWII are the biggest icon in my eyes.

Waiting, for it to be submitted the excitement seems overwhelming.

Well with that being said, many of you know The vocal platform awarded me with a five-dollar bonus for my last journal - entry. I was so excited!

After opening my email I could not believe my eyes, running through the house to tell Chuck what had happened.

Telling me, how proud he is of me and to keep up the good work.

As I tell him, I am getting closer and closer each day.

Riding down the road taking in the countryside, both of us talking about our dreams. Determination in our bones grabbing for what we want.

He begins to laugh at me because I told him I would finally stand out over my brothers.

So, that is your goal, huh to achieve more than they.

No, my goal is to make sure we never see inside of another factory again.

It is time for me to pour my heart into The Vocal Platform more than ever. I have a voice and This Platform has given me a chance to open up and speak what my heart feels.

Speak when I am excited, sad, or angry.

We all have those moments and a lot of us can connect. No, telling who is going through the same problems.

You Have To Keep Breaking Your Heart Until It Opens

The Vocal Platform has also given me a chance to be noticed as a creator. Even though I had written two poetry, books a few years ago, my poetry or my stories are not just sitting on the back of bookshelves somewhere. Unnoticed, dreaming someone would acknowledge my creativity.

Vocal has allowed me to grow and so many ways. Playing with my imagination in which fact I sure love to do. My stepfather had once said after reading my poems it was dark like

'Edgar Allan Poe'

Putting a grin on my face, I had felt like I accomplished my purpose of making my words dark.

An Evening With Edger Allen Poe At Lake Playhouse

Taking every bit of my pain that I held so, deep down inside birthing them into a worded creation, painting that picture of horror for the reader's imagination. Darkest fears, even those horrifying nightmares.

Some relationships the reality of them was too much to bear.

I find it delightful to my amusement relaxing with the pen and paper in my hands.

Now, having the chance to speak and speak clearly. No stumbling across my words, and being rejected. The odd one out, others who are in my vocal community who speak what I speak. We are heard for our truths, our hurt, desires. Birthing these words we stand strong together with encouragement, no regret. Holding close our dreams our accomplishments.

With that being said, I am gonna give few more shouts on this Journal Entry.

*Shout Outs*

JOSEPHINE CRISPIN -

https://vocal.media/authors/josephine-crispin

DARRIUS VARNELL -

https://vocal.media/authors/darrius-dickerson

JOHN THACKER -

https://vocal.media/authors/john-thacker

I wanted to say thank you, for your reads and the hearts. I love reading each one of your stories. Extremely creative people.

So please, go visit these fine creators today give them a like, share, a heart, maybe even a tip. They deserve the pat on the back.

I love every one of you, and I hope you all have an amazing, wonderful, blessed day.

Until my next Journal Entry, keep writing.

literature
13

About the Creator

Audie Edwards

I am an amateur writer, who loves to write poems.

I feel poetry is my only escape from reality. I love to play with the imagination a little and get Dark. We all have nightmares and fears

I just put mine to work in a beautifully written poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.