Journal logo

Certified bookworm, new writer, hopeful dreamer, passionate traveler, cat lover, life enthusiast

I am A.M.Radulescu

By A.M.RadulescuPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
Top Story - August 2021
64
yours truly

Introduction

Hi there! I’m Ana Maria Radulescu, but I go by A.M.Radulescu, a subconscious nod to the Potterhead within me. As a teenager, I used to spend most of my money on fantasy and Sci-Fi books. Even back then my dream was to one day see my name on a library display. And even though life took a different course for about 15 years I never forgot that yearning, and I never stopped reading. I guess other things needed to happen first, to mold me into the person I am today and for that journey, I will always be grateful.

Bio

I was born in Bucharest, the capital of Romania, a medium-sized country in Eastern Europe. As an only child raised by my grandparents in a small mountain town, I grew surrounded by nature, in a tranquil environment, conducive to constant day-dreaming. And boy, did I daydream. Phasing out for minutes on end and driving grandma nuts, because a particular flower inspired me, pulling me in an in-between of creation. Day-to-day life was beautiful, but the worlds I envisioned were wondrous and full of fantasy. In them, all questions found an answer, with freedom reigning supreme. Grandma forcing me to eat some horrid veggies? No problem, I had my carefully crafted scenarios where the beautiful princess did exactly as she pleased.

with my parents, at age 5

The following school years were more or less on the same theme, only now I lived with my parents, in the capital. Whenever the universe didn’t align with my inner earnings, I created my bubbles. They were my refuge, safe spaces that allowed me to be “Perfect Ana” in real-life, whilst giving me the chance to manifest my true being in an alternate reality. Oftentimes, I penned down my musings. It worked well enough and through it all, I had another avenue of great inspiration — our summer road trips throughout Europe.

vacations — dad was the self-appointed photographer

I lost track of all the countries we visited in 20 years, from tourist powerhouses like France, Italy, Spain, UK, Germany, Greece, and Austria to the more subdued but equally beautiful Croatia, Slovenia, Turkey, Sweden, Latvia, The Netherlands, and Russia, with many more in between. Probably around 20 more. All wonderful in their own way, creating amazing memories and quite a few chuckles. From my falling in lake Balaton, Hungary at age 10 while admiring the swans, to mom’s battle with an ill-tempered swan in Vienna some years later, to dad falling to his knees in front of the cathedral in Rheims, France as he was taking pictures (we’re not that clumsy a family, honest), to the many hilarious (now) wrong turns we took, or the time dad got propositioned by a sturdy fellow in a hotel lobby in Prague. The latter was a misunderstanding, but I prefer my version of the story because it’s much more amusing. It took me years to stop bursting into hysterical giggles each time I remembered the incident.

later vacations, with dad in front of the camera

Inspiration

Our travels were food for the soul and they sparked in me a great passion for history. What is history after all if not a compendium of stories, throughout time? I was hooked, going from palace to palace, hitting every museum on the way. And also, reading voraciously, absorbing information like a sponge.

A turning point in my development was for sure the release of the first Harry Potter books, in middle school. They blew (and expanded) my mind. I submerged myself as a willing captive in a world of magic, adventure, friendship, courage, hope. Honestly, I never completely left it.

photo taken today with just the items within easy reach, plus my ginger miscreant, Ron Weasley the cat. He fits in nicely.

There’s also a Who I am story of sorts about Ron if the furball caught your eye.

There were many other books, naturally, but The Boy Who Lived will always have a special place in my heart. Along with Katniss Everdeen, Elisabeth Bennet, Marianne Dashwood, Catherine Earnshaw, Jane Eyre, Rose Hathaway, Sookie Stackhouse, the Starks, the fellowship of the ring ensemble, Prince Caspian and the Pevensies, and many many more.

Adulthood

After graduating at the top high school in the country, I got my Bachelor’s degree in PR&Communication and started working in an advertising agency straight out of college. But not in the creative department, but in Client Service, coordinating inner resources and freelancers like a general on a relentless campaign for promoting the welfare of numerous clients. And in a few humanitarian projects, that brought me the most joy.

For a time, I continued my habit of constructing scenarios, albeit only in my mind, for lack of time. Walking to and from work, I envisioned whole universes, populated by the most interesting characters. But after a while, my job became too all-absorbing to allow anything else. The subsequent burnout pushed me to change agencies, migrating to a friendlier one, with a decent workload.

Then, lo and behold, Covid broke out, and with it, the initial lockdown in the spring of 2020, which in my country was extremely strict. Like everyone else in those initial stages, my clients needed time to regroup, which gifted me with a rare opportunity: time. So, I pulled out an old essay and started transforming it into a novel, a spiritual urban fantasy. Crafting it with all my experience, all the revelations from 7+ years of therapy and then spiritual healing, all that I had absorbed in my 29 years on Earth. It was the push I needed from the Universe to finally listen to the siren’s call and dabble in creating and sharing brave new worlds. Work resumed its normal pace after a while, but I managed to find time for my long stifled passion.

Writing

Slowly but surely, by the end of 2020, I finished the first draft in my native tongue and then translated it roughly to English by 31st December on the dot, thus keeping the promise I made to myself. Then came the endurance campaign of editing, while balancing a full-time job and other personal projects. It was a handful, can’t lie, but I was finally doing something towards my goal in life. Being a creator not only in my mind but on paper as well.

In order to hone my craft and also to build an audience prior to the book release, I joined Vocal Media and then Medium in March-April, writing until now a little over 20 articles on spiritual awakening, love, self-acceptance and growth, relationships, pets, fiction, and even a few poems. Prompted by different challenges encountered on these two platforms, I truly stepped out of my comfort zone and grew immensely as a writer and as a human being. The added benefit was connecting to many amazing creators, people who inspire me every day to be more, to be better. My heartfelt thank you to all.

What about the book?

You might ask. I’m happy to report that the novel, LIGHT and shadows, is on its way to a professional proofreader for the final polish, while I’m working on the cover and the other myriad of things that come with self-publishing. Estimated release date? Early fall, but rest assured I’ll keep you informed. In the meantime, here is a WIP blurb, do let me know your thoughts on it.

A raging war. A hidden world.

The tipping point between Light and Darkness in a world oblivious… who will prevail? Workaholic Ana, alongside her loving boyfriend Andru and their fluffy companion Ron, spends her days striving for perfection. With the help of Light Bringer she’s working to overcome her anxiety, attempting to feel as calm as everyone thinks she is. All while navigating the demanding restructuring of her department and putting out the figurative fires that come with it.

Until alarm bells go off. Bringing the prominent and wise Albus Greenwood into her life and opening her eyes to the invisible plain that dictates everything in our reality. It’s time for Ana to learn its ways. Can one person change the course of the world? The time has come.

LIGHT and Darkness is a spiritual urban fantasy that follows a reluctant heroine in her quest of exploring the unseen spiritual world and finding a cure to vanquishing the shadows that are surrounding humankind at a rapid pace. A modern twist on the classic good vs evil theme, fit for our times.

Personal bliss

Apart from Ron Weasley the cat, I’m fortunate enough to have found the co-tenant of my heart. The three of us make a very special kind of magic, in tune with our favorite band’s rhythm. By discovering each other we discovered ourselves, and now, after more than three years, I can attest to the “cliche” that love grows even bigger if properly nurtured. I will be forever thankful to the Universe for assuring our encounter when the time was right and all conditions were met.

A&A — the A team ❤

Final thoughts

I’ve started my spiritual awakening years ago, but only recently embarked on my true path - to spread love through my writing and to advocate a sense of connection, stoking inner flames long forgotten and bringing forth our authentic beings. Even though I’m not yet a full-time creator, I’m doing my part and working towards achieving my goals, with faith and diligence.

Blessings to you all and stay tuned for the release of LIGHT and shadows!

***

Until then, here’s a short story that can give you a taste of my writing:

An article about managing anxiety:

And one about a dual journey — outside and within:

Finally, if this piece sparked some interest in my work, let’s stay in touch. I always love to engage with readers and fellow creators alike.

Click the fresh-out-of-the-oven big black Subscribe button under this article's title.

Follow me on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you're feeling generous, there's also the Tip button bellow.

feature
64

About the Creator

A.M.Radulescu

Certified bookworm, published author, hopeful dreamer, passionate traveller, cat lover, life enthusiast. Writing about life and self-growth. Get my debut novel at https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09JRJ3P5T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.