Journal logo

Call Me Les

Writer, Geographer, Pianist and LOTR Geek

By Call Me LesPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
58
Author's own photo.

I don't know about you, kind reader, but I always get hung-up on that delicate balance of sharing without over-sharing and highlighting without bragging. End of the day, I am a creator doing her best to pen something others find special.

~&~&~&~

The Serious Stuff:

I have a university education specializing in Geographic Information Science and Geology. I love maps; I collect rocks, and basically—like most Canadians—I love the 'great outdoors'. My active interests include swimming, fishing, exploring caves, and finding any excuse to use a compass. If I'm not writing or working, you'll often find me outside hiking through my city. I'd like to get into some dragon-boat racing next. Now that I'm cleared to exercise post-surgery (you can read about that here), I'm back on my rowing machine.

~&~&~&~

The Sentimental Stuff

Music is something that has always brought me a great deal of joy. I started playing the piano at 10 years old, and while I am no Tchaikovsky (my fav composer), I do alright. I play the clarinet as well, and in my younger years, I used to sing. My musical tastes span a wide range. I love opera and watch that with my dad when I can. I enjoy all things Broadway, and the most recent musical I saw live was Anastasia. I'm obsessed with the epic musical trinity that is Howard Shore, Claude-Michel Schönber & Andrew Lloyd Webber. At heart, I'm a melody gal: give me something that makes my soul feel like a marionette in a dance, and I'm happy. If you haven't noticed, I'm also an odd little duck, so, when reading my writing, you can expect some unusual expressions.

*Forgive the tuning, my piano has been neglected since the start of covid :/

I do a little art sometimes, like for my upcoming book Owl in a Towel, but I leave all the professional stuff to my talented illustrator Cheryl Woynarski.

Owl with their towel on the beach. Copyright L.Leatherdale

I love animals, but I'm not vegan; I have 3 cats, all of them rescues.

Savannah (L) & Jumper aka Lil' Bub (R)

Smokey the Maine Coon

The greatest joy I've ever had in life has been tutoring children in my spare time. I've taught both ESL and math over the years, usually in the 9 through 13 age groups. Helping a child who hates school or feels like a failure change their perspective is what I do best and has been the most rewarding task I've ever completed. I know you'll all be wondering why I don't teach, and it's because I give too much. I would burn out.

Speaking of giving, I do tend to give a lot of myself to anyone and anything that crosses my path: whether that be saving baby squirrels by stuffing them in my bra until I could get to a rescue shelter (baby squirrels don't make their own body heat and this nest was placed in the garbage collection of my apartment building) or staying up into the wee hours of the morning reading and writing personal glossaries for ESL students.

Kindness is something we all possess and I try to spread as much warmth in the world as I can. I live by the motto: what we do to the least of us, defines us as people. I also try and remember that it's not what we do that we regret the most, it's what we don't do that comes back to haunt us.

~&~&~&~

The Silly Stuff

  • I am a massive Lord of the Rings fan. I am the gal that watches the extended editions back to back and then does it again but with the commentary.
  • My favourite season is winter. I love ice, I love snow and I don't care who teases me for it.
  • I have an odd fascination with etymology, so if you've seen me drift off into space after reading something, I've probably decided I need to look up the origin of a word.
  • I'm a Myers Briggs (X)NFP. Meaning I'm a little of both an introvert and extrovert. Lately I identify more as ENFP. Not sure what that is? Click here.
  • I am a gamer. I play on both mobile and Steam. I primarily play story-driven epics that have great soundtracks. My top favs include: Subnautica, Kelvin and the Infamous Machine, The Room series and Ori & the Blind Forest. The latter being an experience that should not be missed; it is the closest you'll ever come to entering into a book. It doesn't hurt that it is accompanied by a full orchestra and opera soundtrack.
  • I am a night-owl: 3am is my favourite hour, but it doesn't count if you wake up early to get to it. It should come as no surprise my favourite animals include bats, but really anything that can fly is my spirit animal.
  • My ADHD tendencies mean I have to work extra hard to keep track of things. I survive by outsourcing some of my cleaning and living minimal—and yet often my sour cream still ends up in the microwave overnight instead of the fridge, my glasses get 'misplaced' on top of my head and my 'important item' is lost to some 'safe spot' for weeks on end!

Why I Write On Vocal

My writing tastes are primarily fiction. My personal favourite Vocal story is a tie between Ariadne & the Minotaur and Selkies: A Return to the Deep. I loved creating these because they are retellings of mythology from a woman's perspective.

Lastly, I am a friend.

I hope that if we haven't met yet, we meet soon! Find me online on Instagram.

I think that's enough for now. Much Love All <3

~*~

P.S. Call Me Les has two meanings: 1. because I dislike my full name & 2. because it is a literary play on 'call me Ishmael'.

literature
58

About the Creator

Call Me Les

Aspiring etymologist and hopeless addict of children's fiction.

If I can't liberally overuse adverbs and alliteration, I'm out!

Instagram @writelesplaymore

Vocal Spotlight

~&~

She/Her

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Interesting. Good work! I’m a night owl too!

  • Queen of Forgiveness™about a year ago

    ADHD bogs me, too, my friend. I am new here. I love your poetry and your about me article. And your piano playing is divine.

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    keep shinning keep up the good work

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    awww I love this!! Did you wear a LOTRs ring necklace from the bookstore everywhere for years like me? 😁 What do you think of the new amazon series?

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a really relatable and beautiful piece about what sounds like a beautiful soul! Thank you for having the courage to share a few pieces of you with us, very inspiring!

  • Ali Howarth2 years ago

    Thank you for this writing! Open hearted, engaging and warm. You are so full of talents, plus the energy to develop them. I has a jealous ;) <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.