Journal logo

Breaking Down the Investor Webinar

Business 101: Jargon Interpretation For Wordy Types

By Misty RaePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
16
Breaking Down the Investor Webinar
Photo by Lukas Blazek on Unsplash

I just logged off from Vocal's Investor webinar. I have to say, it was nice to put faces to names. Justin and Jeremy, I see you now. You don't see me, but I see you. Hello.

I have to say, I wasn't impressed. Wait, listen first (or in this case, read first). My lack of glee can be remedied.

First off, guys, a pre-recorded message? Come on! That sh*t was cold! That said, I kinda get it. You had stuff you wanted to say, that you needed to get out of the way before the Q and A.

But your Q and A left more Qs and few A's. Nobody understood a word you were saying. Well, except me. I did, because, I'm..well, I'm me. I practiced law. I've done corporate filings. I've fought a lot of corporate disputes out in court.

But by and large, the folks on this platform are writers. They're not financiers. They're not employed on Wall Street. Your jargon went way, WAY over their heads.

You were speaking in jargon and a language that most of us didn't get. I'm not mad at you, we get comfortable with the language of our professions. We forget others aren't.

I saw a comment from a guy who said he didn't get it. So I'm here to break it down in real human words.

Let's start with Creatd listed as VOCL on the NASDAQ (a stock exchange). Creatd is NOT Vocal the company. They're together, but separate.

Creatd is a parent company, a holding company. That means that it's a company, a corporate entity that owns shares in other companies. Those other companies are called subsidiaries. It's like Daddy or Mommy company and Baby company.

Creatd is Daddy, Vocal is junior. They're linked, but they're separate individuals if you will.

When you look up Creatd stock, you're seeing the stock price of the holding company, Daddy stock. You're not seeing the value of junior Vocal.

And when you invest in the Reg CF, you're investing in junior, not Daddy.

Right now, Vocal lives in Creatd's house (follow the daddy and son analogy), but they aren't the same person.

That's why Jeremy keeps saying Vocal is inherently worth more than the stock value Creatd shows. You can't measure the son by the father.

Moving on, more jargon. Jeremy mentioned that under the Reg CF, we get Preferred Participating Stock. All that means is you, as an investor, have a right to receive the regular dividend that a preferred shareholder would normally get, PLUS an additional dividend that's predetermined. Long story short, if the company declares a dividend (a regular payment based on profit), you get a little extra.

Unless you're in the US, only "authorized subscribers" can buy in. Long story short, Canadians are kinda out of luck.

I'm optimistic. I love the idea of more partnerships with brands. Not only does it create revenue opportunities for creators, but with sponsored challenges, larger prizes will attract more Vocal+ members. Let's be honest, advertising is storytelling and that's what we do here, we tell stories.

I won't lie, I am a little salty that my question about the ethics of allowing shareholders to participate in challenges wasn't addressed. It's an issue that needs attention and that could detract from the credibility of the platform. It could be as simple as acknowledging up front that this is a creator-funded platform or something like that.

Transparency is key here. As is clarity. Sometimes, when we're in the forest, we forget that some people can't name the trees. So, always the humble servant, I'm naming the trees for you so you won't be intimidated.

Vocalbusiness
16

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Karen Cave4 months ago

    This was brilliantly written. I really appreciated this, as had been interested in seeing the webinar but wasn't able to. Thank you! I love a good analogy ;)

  • Misty you are Godsend! Thank you so much for taking the time to explain this to us! As for being transparent, Vocal was never really good with that. They're very shady at times, lol.

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    The question about creators that invest participating in challenges was addressed when the first roll out of investing came up. I think it was on a Tuesday chat. Justin stated creators would not be excluded if the participated in the investment opportunity. The judges if challenges don’t get the names of the entrants- only the entry content. (I am guessing it’s much like what we saw when we were invited to judge the latest blind judging writing challenge. They did not address your question on the presentation, but had done so a few months ago. I think, since the answer didn’t get spread about, it would be good to ask again in the next Tuesday Creator Chat.

  • Thanks for the article, Misty. It's quite helpful.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Thanks for this. You’re right - every industry has its own jargon which can be a little confusing at times. Great explanation!

  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    Thank you. I appreciate your insight. ❤️

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    Thank you, Misty!! This was very helpful and much appreciated :)

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Thanks for this, Misty. I wasn't able to watch it, so the recap is appreciated. Fortunately, it doesn't sound like I missed much.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    "my question about the ethics of allowing shareholders to participate in challenges wasn't addressed." Contest do not allow employees or vendor to enter. Would create a conflict of interest. Thank you, Misty, for sharing this!!!

  • I did not sign up in time to attend the webinar. Thank you. Yes writing and the stock exchange are completely different professions. Although I did study business and union management I changed my major to Journalism after two years. Investing in crypto or the stock market is for the professional in that field. Thank you for breaking the webinar information into a layman's intellect.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Thanks for explaining this legality in simplicity.

  • Thank you for naming the trees for us Misty!

  • KJ Aartila4 months ago

    Thank you!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Eeeesh, I hope the issue about shareholders participating is addressed! 😮 This was one thing that stopped me, because I felt sure I wouldn't be able to participate here in the same way.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.