Journal logo

Books, Kids, Chaos and Headaches

The Life of a Librarian!

By Stand Corrected EditingPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4
The view of the library from my desk!

Working as a Librarian for a day may sound like the most boring job in the world, but my building of books is home to me.

My local library took me in as a volunteer when I was seventeen, and now six years later, I’m part of the family. A family I haven’t been able to see since the end of March. It’s nice texting and receiving the odd email each week, but the warmth comes from that face-to-face interaction we've all had to cope without. I miss the smile my colleagues give me when I walk through the automatic doors, the excitement of the kids as they holler my name from the computers, and the community spirit that radiates from the members of the public.

On the first day of freedom, this is the place I will go. Most libraries where I live open at 9:30am, so I will wake from my pit of warm blankets and pillows and leap out of bed.

Weetabix: check!

Teeth: check!

Clothes: check!

Straighten hair: check!

Apply eyeliner: check!

Pack a bag: check!

A logical morning routine, but I’ll probably still forget something. I always do!

When I arrive, I guarantee that the staff will be in the middle of some comedic crisis. Three thousand customers waiting on two members of staff, or groups of naughty kids riding bikes and scooters around the bookshelves. I’ll throw my bag out the back and suddenly turn into Supernanny, a waitress, a tennis player, a mediator and a teacher, all in the space of about five minutes! “Chelseeeaa! Can I have a drink, please?” “Yeah, can I have one, too?” “Have you got any juice?” “Chelseeeeaaaa! Can we play Tiny Pong?” “Chelseeeeeaaaa?” “Chelseeeeaaaa? How do you spell motorbike?” “Chelseeeeaaaaa, can I have some more time of the computer?” “Chelseeeeaaaa, what’s 8 times 9?” I don’t even get the chance to answer the maths questions; some other child usually pipes up with something like, “It’s 72 you thicko!” Before I can reprimand the smart arse, more voices will squeal in my ear. “Chelseeeeaaa! I’m bored!” “Can we play hide and seek?” “Chelseeeaaa what’s the time?” “Chelseeeeaaaa?!”

If I haven’t got eight-year-olds squawking at me, I’ve got various nursery rhymes in my head from listening to one of my colleagues doing Wriggle and Rhyme with the toddlers. Wiiiiiiiind the bobbin up, wiiiiiiind the bobbin up, pull, pull, clap, clap, clap! Throughout the rest of the week, I’ll find myself singing, floooooppy ears and curly whiiiiiiiiskers or down in the jungle where nobody goes!

I mean, take your pick. A headache…or a headache, maybe a migraine? That’s your choice.

By Siora Photography on Unsplash

You're probably questioning whether I actually enjoy this job after my account of what goes on, but I really do! I’m not being made to express my passion for it. Honest!

Despite how many headaches I go home with and how stressful it can be at times, myself and my colleagues can’t help but view some of those kids as our own. The library is based in the middle of a council estate harbouring an abundance of disadvantaged families and broken homes, so the library has become a haven for many poor souls. They crave our attention because they don’t get it at home, so to be one of the people who gives them a sense of belonging and worth fills me with warmth and achievement.

Beano characters some of the children made from used toilet rolls and paper!

I can’t wait to play Simpsons Monopoly with the little boy who loves to win. I can’t wait to let the bubbly twins help me with the books and displays around the library and I can’t wait to put the world to rights in the office with a cup of tea and a gluten-free biscuit.

I can’t wait to go back to my second home and give better days to the children others forget.

humor
4

About the Creator

Stand Corrected Editing

Hiya! I'm Chelsea and I'm a book editor & proofreader at Stand Corrected Editing, my editorial business in the UK. Feel free to get in touch! :)

Website: standcorrectedediting.com

Instagram: @standcorrected_editing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.