Journal logo

Best Songs by Ariana Grande

A list of the best songs by Ariana Grande

By Diani AlvarengaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Image Credit: https://www.kiss.ie/ariana-grande-revealed-why-she-rarely-shows-off-her-natural-curls/

You probably won’t believe this, but when I first saw Victorious, a Nickelodeon show, and saw Ariana Grande, I had this feeling that she was going to be extremely successful. I found her singing to be so incredible and I believed that she was going to be a huge star outside of the show. I remember when my stepdad was driving and the radio was on, that is when I heard her song The way featuring Mac Miller and I loved it so much.

I thought I should share some songs from her that I believe to be truly wonderful.

Thank U Next

I love this song because it sends audiences a message that just because a relationship ends, it doesn't mean there should be bad blood between two people. It's completely okay to love a person still even if it ends. Relationships can teach us how to grow, or know what we want in the future. When I and my ex of seven years ended our time together, I realized later on how my immaturity and extreme pride caused us to fall apart a lot. Now in my current relationship, I am not afraid to be vulnerable.

The light is coming

I really like the use of personification in this song: "The light is coming to give back everything the darkness stole." To me, this is another way of saying that even though we go through awful things in life, that doesn't mean it's forever. Darkness is connected to fear and to bad thoughts, but with light in our lives, we are aware that we will become happy again.

Best Mistake

The title of this song is an example of an oxymoron. Mistakes can help us to improve in the future. How can we just get over someone that touched our hearts? "There's no pot of gold in the rainbows we chase But we hold on, hold on" I feel that in relationships, we know we love that person unconditionally even though they are not perfect. Even though in relationships, couples are not in the honeymoon phase forever, they still can't imagine life without each other. We have moments where we can't stand our partners, but we still choose to be with them.

Monopoly

I really enjoyed the lyrics of this song. I would definitely sing it with my close friends. It's about not letting negativity affect us and focusing on reaching our goals and making big achievements.

God is a woman

Women are important in this world. This song encourages female sexuality and I think it's important that women have this sense of empowerment. The song starts off like this: "You, you love it how I move you. You love it how I touch you, my one. When all is said and done, you'll believe God is a woman And I, I feel it after midnight a feelin' that you can't fight, my one, it lingers when we're done. You'll believe God is a woman." Ariana is saying that women can make men feel like they are in heaven, and that is why they are called God. My favorite lyrics from the song are these: "And I can be all the things you told me not to be. When you try to come for me, I keep on flourishing and he see the universe when I'm the company. It's all in me." As women, we should not be told by men how to act, be open about our sexuality or talk about the things we like when it comes to sex. We should wear whatever we feel makes us beautiful and not let society tell us we should be ashamed. Also, despite the negativity that can be thrown at women, they are still going to be thriving in life.

listpop culturecelebrities
2

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Janay Ealey10 months ago

    Great choices and thank you for explaining why you choose those songs! My best songs from are One Last Time, Problem, Dangerous Woman, Needy, Love Me Harder, Focus, Thank U Next, and God is a Woman.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.