Journal logo

Becoming A Lawyer Was Never My Dream

But I became a lawyer. So are you.

By Olivia MarlenePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Becoming A Lawyer Was Never My Dream
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Why I Never Considered the Law Profession

I didn’t dream to become a lawyer. Not once when I was young. I thought the law profession is only meant for the philosophical and logical mind. It's something I couldn't fathom because I was someone who leans toward exact science. I can't appreciate having to weigh matters and use discretion.

I wanted to choose between yes and no. I can either be right or wrong depending on my choice. I can't appreciate the "it depends" depending on my arguments.

What Is My Childhood Dream?

My elementary days of idolizing my beautiful teachers who come to school well-dressed complimented with red lipsticks and high heels made me dream of becoming like them. I wanted to be part of the noblest profession. Since then, I studied hard and made sure I’ll become an educator.

But came high school, I became inclined to science. I joined and won science quiz bees. I still wanted to become a teacher but I upgraded it with a specialization. I wanted to teach science-related subjects to college students in a State University. It was a specific dream.

I then went to the University of the Philippines in Baguio for a BS Biology course. It was a rigorous study with laboratory and field tasks. I became accustomed to sleepless nights of dissecting cats and whales. I breed fruit flies, named unknown leaves, and mixed chemicals in the laboratory.

It was hard but I loved it. I made sure to excel. I studied well because I know that I will be relaying all the knowledge to my future students.

Did I Fulfill My Dream?

I was on top of the world when I graduated. I was able to have a teaching stint as a substitute instructor in one of the private colleges in my hometown. After that, I made a move to fulfill my dream to become a college instructor in one of the state universities, also in my hometown. There, life showed me how unfair life is.

I didn’t know that intelligence and skills won’t matter. The “it’s not what you know but who you know” caught me by surprise. I wasn’t accepted. It dampened my spirits. It crushed my young heart. I cried blood.

A Career Change

I left my hometown to try my luck in Manila. I made my own teaching career. I became a private tutor. The UP graduate belonging to the upper level of her batch in terms of grades was reduced to a mere tutor. But I didn’t have a choice. I have to earn. I have to help my family.

Little did I know that the tutoring job will give me the one big break that fueled the journey to where I am now. The father of one of my tutees encouraged me to apply to my current job, I got accepted and the rest is history.

The Start of My Law School Journey

My current organization is supportive of its employees. My boss saw the potential in me and encouraged me to take up law. I was hesitant at first. But when she raised her voice and told me “you have to think in the long term”, I suddenly woke up in my deep slumber. It was the reality. My BS Biology days are gone. If I want to move up with my current career I have to enter a law school.

With a toddler and a 1-year-old, I took the challenge. Employee by day, mom-student by night. I became an expert in multitasking. Imagine reading while holding a feeding bottle for a cute baby who can’t sleep without you.

I only needed 72 units of law for me to be promoted to a decent level. I got it. Then I told myself, “I already started this, so I might as well just finish it”. I graduated with a Bachelor of Laws. I got promoted one step higher and I said enough. I didn’t want to take the bar exam.

A year passed after my graduation, I changed my mind and said “why not try taking the bar, just once.” So I went on and set that goal. I’m good at commitments. When I’ll say I’ll do it, do or die, I’ll do everything to make it a reality.

The Bar Exam Review

I then took the once in a lifetime endeavor of preparing for the bar exam for 6 months. Take note, I said “prepare” not just “study”. Studying is only one of the things you will do to prepare for the bar. You have to be intellectually and emotionally prepared for the country's most challenging exam. You won’t make it half-hearted.

I didn’t only study the law. I also studied speed reading. I improved my handwriting. I read motivational books to lift my spirits. I did visualization exercises. I guarded my confidence. I took care of my health. And the most important thing, I prayed every day.

Everything was worth it in the end. I made it on my first take.

By Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Why Am I telling You All of This?

My point is, being a lawyer was never my dream but I made it. So in case it's your dream and you planned for it, you will have a better chance than me. And since I made it, so are you.

If you do what you love, you’ll never work a day in your life. - Marc Anthony

If you love studying the law, reviewing will come naturally to you like me with my BS Bio subjects. But for my law subjects, I have to exert more energy.

Good thing, there is also such thing as “being good at what you do” and that exactly represents me. So even if it’s not what I love, even if I exerted some more, I made sure I gave my best. And I made it.

Friends, you can make it. Whether becoming a lawyer is your dream or not.

Doing what you love can produce the same result as being good at what you do.

___

If you haven't subscribed to my "5-Minute Bar Exam Story" please leave your emails HERE.

___

career
1

About the Creator

Olivia Marlene

Member of the Legal Profession * Saving and Investing Enthusiast *Blogger * Mom * Wife

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.