Journal logo

Beautiful Lights

Purple, Red, White, Yellow and Blue Lights

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1

In the early 2000’s, I was in an art gallery, and there I saw a painting that had something like what I experienced shortly after my reiki master and I had done a reiki circle together. Well, she wasn’t a master yet, as she had just come back from getting a level 3 attunement. She wanted to give me an attunement for level 3 reiki practitioner as she knew I was a level 2. She wanted to practice right away and even though I wasn’t interested I agreed, as I was curious. I received the attunement and then she told me, “Oh, by the way, you will grieve and re-grieve things for about a month, I was told. Reiki 3 is a spiritual healing and that means we have to grieve what we haven’t to get to where we are meant to be.” “You could have told me before I agreed!” I said. She said, “Then you may have said no. It won’t be a big deal. You will see.” So, there we were, in a reiki circle, her teaching me how to send reiki as a group, as level 3 reiki teachers. Not masters yet but working in that direction. Then she said, “I want to send DJ (medicine woman) reiki as she was not feeling well when I spoke with her earlier today. I must warn you though that she doesn’t like cats.” I thought I knew what she meant as my cat Rose was always right there when we were doing reiki. I wasn’t expecting what happened though. We were sending reiki together when suddenly Rose, jumped into the air, hollered loudly, and took off running. “DJ is here” said Katie, all matter of fact. It didn’t bother me that this happened at the time, as I have pushed Rose off many a reiki table and even shooed her away from under the table still other times. It bothered me later. What did she mean DJ was here?

Well, back to the art gallery. The work was by an Indigenous artist from Canada. He was at the gallery as he and his brother were displaying their art. As I approached the piece that was familiar to me, I pointed and I asked him, “Do they come in other colors?” and he answered, “What color did you see?”. And then he proceeded to say, “They come in different colors and white shows up the best in paintings and that is why white.” That was the end of the conversation. No big deal. I was relieved to not be the only one who had the experience of seeing what I saw. I was thinking it was a reiki thing and after speaking with this artist, then I thought it must be an Indigenous thing. He made it out to be no big deal and that was helpful too. I purchased a painting as a reminder to me that I’m never the only one. Then I will remind myself that it has been many years since drinking alcohol or taking any illicit drugs to further support my logic that says that I am not the only one who has experienced some of the things I have gone through in my life.

It was not long when I went to see a traditional healer friend of mine and I told her all the things that had happened since learning reiki. She mentioned, “If you were in our ceremony, you would have received your colors, spirit animal, your gifts.” Then she told me what the things meant that I received. She said, “the attunement you mentioned is a ceremony. Not our ceremony and still a ceremony.” I was relieved again as she normalized everything. I miss her as I continue to have experiences that I don’t hear talked about. The closest I have found is to different types of clairvoyance. I don’t think it matters much as I am aging fast and time flies when you are having fun and when you are aging. There is a scientific explanation for this, and I can’t find it. An acquaintance gave me a copy of an explanation and I misplaced it. Even though I don’t throw away many important papers, this one I can’t find. Too much to go through, although it may be time. So, the lights were the prettiest purple I will ever see, along with the white and yellow gold. Then there was magenta, and white and there was blue and there may have been green lights too. May have been? I haven’t seen green lights, or lights like the ones in the picture again since about 2002. I started seeing the lights when I received my first reiki session in the early 1990’s. For the ones I saw at the reiki circle Katie said, “Oh, they were here as I called in the spirit helpers when we were sending reiki.” “Oh, that explains it!” I said.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.