Journal logo

I Was Hoping I Would Never Have To Get Covid

Inspite of all of the people in my family that had covid I have remained hopeful that I would not get it!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
I Was Hoping I Would Never Have To Get Covid
Photo by Daniel Schludi on Unsplash

I was exposed to a friend that tested positive just hours after I caught a ride with her. She was getting over a cold, she said. When I asked people how soon I should test positive, I was told 3 days, then 5, then 7 days. I didn't test positive with that advice.

I took the test today because I have symptoms. Then my friend said, you can test positive up to 10 days after exposure. Since I tested at 13 days from initial exposure, I have no idea for sure when it started, but I had the start of not feeling well yesterday.

Today, I will have a phone visit with an available doctor to determine eligibility for anti-viral medication.

Because I am considered a vulnerable person, due to being diabetic, older, and overweight, I have been considered for each of the boosters.

I live with my husband, who has also had the boosters. He has been surprised that he hasn't gotten sick since the beginning of covid. He maintains that he has gotten a cold at least yearly forever.

We have put precautions in place since I was exposed until day 7, and actually, I was exposed to her 3 days before she tested positive.

I am sorry that I stopped testing when I did. It is okay, I just may have exposed a few people that I wouldn't want to get covid, like my daughter, her husband, and their children. A couple of friends and my husband.

My brother died from covid. He was out celebrating his birthday on valentines day. He is missed by four daughters and a grandson. He has four living siblings also, that includes me.

I have heard a symptom here and there. My brother said covid was kicking his ass. When he thought he was going back to work, he ended up in the hospital.

Cold symptoms are what I have heard the most. Okay, but what does that mean? Coughing and sneezing. Yes. Sometimes a sore throat and fever.

My symptoms started with a sore throat for most of the day, and sneezing and coughing started soon after. The first night I woke up so dizzy that I couldn't go to the bathroom on my own.

The next day is when I tested for covid and was positive. I was tired from being dizzy for much of the night. So I slept off and on in the recliner the rest of the night and during that day. Coughing and sneezing were my symptoms.

I had a phone visit with a doctor and he prescribed an antiviral. Not the best one available but the only other one. That night I took the first dose and could not sleep for the first five hours after I went to bed. My mouth hurt so bad, I could not sleep.

The next day again was spent sleeping much of the day and I stopped the antiviral. I have had a similar reaction to Tylenol. The doctor ruled out a Tylenol interaction in the materials but recommended I discontinue use.

Due to the water, I drank I was up going to the bathroom, throughout the night last night. No dizziness and no sore mouth. The coughing and sneezing continue but seem a bit less.

I am not as tired.

I was hoping to not ever experience covid, even though my friend that keeps up the best, said, it will eventually get everyone. I have had the first two vaccines and three boosters.

I continue to be grateful for my children and others staying away when sick as the earlier version may have killed me as it did my brother and friends.

feature
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.