Journal logo

Avoiding Board Room Blunders

A How-To Guide to not sticking out at your first board meeting (like I did).

By Christina HunterPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Avoiding Board Room Blunders
Photo by Dylan Gillis on Unsplash

Ideas come to me in the strangest of places. I could be lathering up mid-shower and feel the need to rush out and execute a plan that flashed through my mind. I once mentally created an entire political musical during my daily commute; complete with character building, sub-plots and the perfect songs interjected at key moments of the 'play'. So when I approached our local Land Trust with an idea to bring a children's program to them on a whim, I wasn't expecting that they love the idea so much, that they decided to make me a board member too.

I had never been a member of a board before, and had no idea what was expected of me. I felt, however, that I was put in this position for a reason, and the only way to change one's life is to put yourself in uncomfortable situations and welcome new experiences.

The following week I was invited to attend the meeting. As I entered the board room I was welcomed by the community's most respected members; wealthy University elites, top-end professionals, and then there was me.

Gulp.

I was welcomed enthusiastically and settled into my swiveling office chair awaiting the meeting to begin. They all had printed copies of the agenda, and since I didn't have one, I decided to pull up the emailed version on my phone. I was then thrust into a world of Robert's Rules jargon and complicated budgets, all of which each member was voting on. Hands were raised, longwinded responses by naysayers were given, discussions erupted, all while I scrolled through the agenda on my phone, trying to keep up.

Suddenly the President stopped mid-sentence and asked me pointedly,

"Christina, are you paying attention?"

I nodded, thinking to myself, as best as I can...

She followed with,

"Do you need a copy of the agenda?"

I realized then that she thought I was just scrolling social media throughout the meeting. I explained that I was following along on my phone and felt the need to show proof by holding up the tiny budget on my smart phone's screen. She nodded and smiled, relieved I wasn't the airhead she had mistaken me for, and continued.

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

The meeting concluded and conversations about their lake-house gatherings and rowing club outings ensued. I stood awkwardly not able to interject into any conversation happening all around me. I didn't even have papers to pretend to read through. The woman who had invited me to the meeting walked me out and, as if reading my mind, said "the Board is lucky to have an energetic younger person like you here." And with that I walked to my car, still feeling very dazed about the entire experience.

The good news is that it's been six years since that first meeting, and I have been a board member for the Land Trust for five of those years. I grew my children's program successfully with the support from my fellow board members and became the Chair of Fundraising for two of those years. It also gave me the confidence to join other boards in the community, and with each new experience I have felt empowered to share my ideas and voice my concerns, building relationships within the community and making a name for myself.

If you've ever considered joining a board in your community, but are hesitant because of lack of experience, look no further. These tips will help you rock your first board meeting allowing you to feel confident and prepared:

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

5 Tips To Nailing Your First Board Room Meeting

1. Familiarize yourself with Roberts Rules of Order - Most board meetings follow these rules as way to keep track of their minutes, voting, structures and policies. It can feel overwhelming if you don't understand how these work and are suddenly asked to "bring a motion" or to "second the motion". By understanding the basic principles prior to the meeting, you will feel better prepared once the meeting begins, and won't look like a deer caught in headlights like I did.

2. Bring a paper copy of the agenda - Don't get caught like I did having to scroll the agenda and attachments on your phone. Not only does it look like you aren't paying attention, but you can't make any notes and it makes it difficult to flip back and forth as the discussion moves from topic to topic. I was lucky that the President asked me what I was doing so that I could explain myself, however some may just make an observation and conclude that you aren't paying attention without asking. It's better to be prepared and ready to make notes.

3. Be prepared to talk - If you're new to a board (even as a guest), the group around the table will want to know a little about yourself. It may feel overwhelming to be thrust into public speaking impromptu, so take a few minutes to prepare a few things you could say ahead of time. Practice beforehand if you're feeling nervous, and remember, they've all been new at some point too, and they are all there to support you and genuinely want newcomers to join. It's a welcoming atmosphere, not a judgemental one. Simply stating why you are interested in joining or helping out and any relevant background you have on the community you're joining. For example, if it's a youth basketball organization you could say that you love the sport, or would like to pass some knowledge from when you played the sport as a kid etc.

4. Understand What's Required of You - Before accepting the position, understand what they require from that position. Nobody likes a seat filler taking up a valuable space on a community board when what they're looking for is a group of individuals to share the work. Understand the role you are accepting and vow to do your best at completing the work. Life gets in the way sometimes, and meetings can be missed, but if you accept a position, understand that the rest of the board is requiring you to pitch in and help. It's one thing to attend the meetings, but the real work happens in between. Think of the meeting as the time to share the work you've done since the last one.

5. Be Willing to be Vulnerable - It's ok to not know much about the organization you are joining. They're not expecting you to join their group with all the background knowledge that they've acquired over the years. What they're looking for is someone with energy and enthusiasm (and sometimes expertise in a specific area), but they are willing to teach you the rest. The more you reach out and ask questions, the more the rest of the group sees that you are genuinely curious and savvy.

Being on a board is about building community relationships and having fun. If it's not a fun experience, then you won't want to continue. It shouldn't feel like a chore, it should feel purposeful. Perhaps your energy is what's bringing others to the table and wanting to continue. Just be yourself and let the rest unfold how it's supposed to.

career
1

About the Creator

Christina Hunter

Author, Mother, Wife. Recipient of the Paul Harris Fellowship award and 2017 nominee for the Women of Distinction award through the YWCA. Climate Reality Leader, Zero-Waste promoter, beekeeper and lover of all things natural.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.